SIB Events


Tuesday, February 21, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Lauren Gates/Shisler Lab and Kyle Grim/Kehl-Fie Lab

 

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Peter Groffman, University of Georgia "Terrestrial denitrification: A tale of misery, woe and the frontiers of Environmental Science"

 

Thursday, February 23, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Lora Hooper, University of Texas Southwestern -- "Bacteria as master regulators of metabolism"

 

Monday, February 27, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Matthew Lehnert, Kent State University: "Capillary action and cibarial pumps: convergent evolution of liquid uptake mechanisms among fluid-feeding insects with porous proboscises"

 

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Ananya Sen/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, March 01, 2017

3:30 pm

ZEISS-IGB Partnership Reception

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Jessica Conroy, Geology, UIUC, “Galápagos seabird activity and ocean productivity”

5:30 pm

What’s in a Core? Identifying Core Placental Genes Across Species

 

Thursday, March 02, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. George O'Toole, Dartmouth -- "To Build a Biofilm"

 

Monday, March 06, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Jim Whitfield, Dept. of Entomology, UIUC: "From biodiversity inventory to large-scale descriptive taxonomy and phylogenomics: challenges with hyperdiverse parasitoid wasps"

 

Tuesday, March 07, 2017

12:00 pm

Impact of Regulatory Variation Across Human iPSCs and Differentiated Cells

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Elizabeth Rowland/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Dave Moeller, University of Minnesota "Speciation and flora evolution"

 

Thursday, March 09, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Thomas Morrison, University of Colorado-Denver -- "Viral and Host Determinants of Chikungunya Virus Persistence"

 

Monday, March 13, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Sean Menke, Lake Forest College, Chicago: "The Importance of Biological Collections as a Historical Lens to Understand the Present"

 

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

12:00 pm

Epigenetic Regulation in Brain Controlling Behavior in Ants and Mammals

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Preethi Thattai Ragunathan/Vanderpool Lab and Paola Parraga Solorzano/Kehl-Fie Lab

 

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

8:30 am

Desktop Nanoscale Imaging: Superresolution @ 20nm using single-molecule localization

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Pontus Skoglund, Harvard University "Ancient genomes and the human past”

 

Thursday, March 16, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Stephen Ragsdale, University of Michigan -- "How Microbes Make and Break Methane"

 

Saturday, March 18, 2017

1:00 pm

Spring Vacation Begins

 

Monday, March 27, 2017

Instruction resumes

2:00 pm

Microbiology Thesis Defense: Sarah Henke/Cronan Lab

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Sarah Hughson, Dept. of Entomology, UIUC, Grad Student Exit Seminar: "TBA"

 

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

12:00 pm

Epigenetic Mechanisms in Memory Formation

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Yidan Zhou/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Jim Leebens-Mack, University of Georgia "Plant Phylogenomics: Comparative Analyses of Plant Genes and Genomes"

 

Thursday, March 30, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Patricia Foster, Indiana University -- "TBA"

 

Friday, March 31, 2017

12:30 pm

OLLI Citizen Scientist First annual Roundtable Luncheon

 

Monday, April 03, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Jonathan Lundgren, Blue Dasher Farms: "TBA"

 

Tuesday, April 04, 2017

12:00 pm

10 Most Critical Factors for Startup Success

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Amanda Adams/Degnan Lab

 

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Kevin Wolz, PEEC, UIUC, PhD. Defense: "Diverse agroforestry: a transformative agricultural solution"

 

Thursday, April 06, 2017

2:00 pm

Microbiology Thesis Defense: He Fu/Metcalf Lab

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Jimmy Ballard, University of Oklahoma -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 10, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Derek Rosenberger, Olivet Nazarene University: "TBA"

 

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

12:00 pm

Elucidating the Genetic Basis of Amino Acids Metabolism in Seeds

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Michelle Goettge/Metcalf Lab and Elizabeth Haywood/Wilson Lab

 

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Kevin Lafferty, UCSB/USGS “Disease ecology & modeling”

 

Thursday, April 13, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Thomas Silhavy, Princeton University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 17, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Dan Cariveau, University of Minnesota: "TBA"

4:00 pm

Genetic Analysis of Inherited Breast and Ovarian Cancer: From Gene Discovery to Precision Medicine and Public Health

 

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Alexander Palmer/Slauch Lab

 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Kaiyu Guan, NRES, UIUC "Integrating Satellite Data, Machine Learning and Agronomy Knowledge to Monitor Crop Growth and Forecast Crop Yield"

 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Vincent Young, University of Michigan -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 24, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Keon Mook Seong, Dept. of Entomology, UIUC, Grad Student Exit Seminar: "TBA"

 

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

12:00 pm

Identifying the Micro from the Peta: Tales of Big Data in the Micro World

 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Kelsey Witt, PEEC, UIUC "A History of Ancient Dogs in the Americas"

 

Thursday, April 27, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Yasu Morita, University of Massachussets -- "TBA"

 

Monday, May 01, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Rodrigo Almeida, University of California, Berkeley: "TBA"

 

Wednesday, May 03, 2017

Instruction Ends

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dora Cohen, PEEC, UIUC "TBD"

 

Thursday, May 04, 2017

IT No Change Period in effect

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Karine Gibbs, Harvard University -- "TBA"

 

Friday, May 05, 2017

Final Exams Begin

 

Saturday, May 13, 2017

9:30 am

Commencement

 

Monday, May 15, 2017

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 1

 

Monday, June 12, 2017

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 2

 

Thursday, August 03, 2017

12:00 pm

Instruction Ends, Summer Session

 

Friday, August 04, 2017

8:30 am

Final Exams, Summer Session