SIB Events


Monday, March 27, 2017

Instruction resumes

10:00 am

Microbiology Thesis Defense: Sarah Henke/Cronan Lab

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Sarah Hughson, Dept. of Entomology, UIUC, Grad Student Exit Seminar: "The movement behavior and reproductive ecology of western corn rootworm beetles and implications for the high-dose refuge strategy in Bt cornfields"

 

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

12:00 pm

Epigenetic Mechanisms in Memory Formation

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Yidan Zhou/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Jim Leebens-Mack, University of Georgia "Plant Phylogenomics: Comparative Analyses of Plant Genes and Genomes"

5:30 pm

IGB 10 Year Anniversary

 

Thursday, March 30, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Patricia Foster, Indiana University -- "Determinants of Spotaneous Mutation in Escherichia coli: What we can learn from whole genome sequencing"

 

Friday, March 31, 2017

12:30 pm

OLLI Citizen Scientist First annual Roundtable Luncheon

 

Monday, April 03, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Jonathan Lundgren, Blue Dasher Farms: "Ecologically intensive food production systems: implications for pest management and the future of entomology"

 

Tuesday, April 04, 2017

12:00 pm

10 Most Critical Factors for Startup Success

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Amanda Adams/Degnan Lab

 

Wednesday, April 05, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

TBD

 

Thursday, April 06, 2017

2:00 pm

Microbiology Thesis Defense: He Fu/Metcalf Lab

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Jimmy Ballard, University of Oklahoma -- "Exploring Clostridium difficile TcdB for Novel Peptide-Based Therapeutics"

 

Monday, April 10, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Derek Rosenberger, Olivet Nazarene University: "Once a killer...? Novel hosts and the eastward range expansion of mountain pine beetle, a predator of pines from western North America"

 

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

12:00 pm

Elucidating the Genetic Basis of Amino Acids Metabolism in Seeds

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Michelle Goettge/Metcalf Lab and Elizabeth Haywood/Wilson Lab

 

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Kevin Lafferty, UCSB/USGS “Disease ecology & modeling”

 

Thursday, April 13, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Thomas Silhavy, Princeton University -- "Building a membrane on the other side of the wall"

6:00 pm

IGB Art of Science 7.0 Opening Reception

 

Monday, April 17, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Dan Cariveau, University of Minnesota: "TBA"

4:00 pm

Genetic Analysis of Inherited Breast and Ovarian Cancer: From Gene Discovery to Precision Medicine and Public Health

 

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Postdoc Seminar: Fadi Alnaji/Brooke Lab

 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dr. Kaiyu Guan, NRES, UIUC "Integrating Satellite Data, Machine Learning and Agronomy Knowledge to Monitor Crop Growth and Forecast Crop Yield"

 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Vincent Young, University of Michigan -- "The host, pathogen and microbiome in Clostridium difficile infection"

 

Monday, April 24, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Keon Mook Seong, Dept. of Entomology, UIUC, Grad Student Exit Seminar: "Molecular implications of prolonged DDT selection in Drosophila melanogaster"

 

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

12:00 pm

Identifying the Micro from the Peta: Tales of Big Data in the Micro World

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Ted Kim/Whitaker Lab and Alexander Palmer/Slauch Lab

 

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Kelsey Witt, PEEC, UIUC "A History of Ancient Dogs in the Americas"

 

Thursday, April 27, 2017

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Yasu Morita, University of Massachussets -- "Mycobacterial cell envelope biosynthesis: membrane dynamics and stress response"

 

Monday, May 01, 2017

4:00 pm - 4:50 pm

Entomology Colloquium -- Dr. Rodrigo Almeida, University of California, Berkeley: "TBA"

 

Wednesday, May 03, 2017

Instruction Ends

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar -- Dora Cohen, PEEC, UIUC "Microbial communities and denitrification in restored wetlands"

 

Thursday, May 04, 2017

IT No Change Period in effect

8:30 am

IGB Fellows Symposium

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Karine Gibbs, Harvard University -- "Identity communication and kin recognition in the group behaviors of Proteus mirabilis"

 

Friday, May 05, 2017

Final Exams Begin

 

Saturday, May 13, 2017

9:30 am

Commencement

 

Monday, May 15, 2017

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 1

 

Friday, May 19, 2017

10:00 am
through
2:00 pm, 5/20/2017

The World of Genomics at The Field Museum

 

Monday, June 12, 2017

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 2

 

Thursday, August 03, 2017

12:00 pm

Instruction Ends, Summer Session

 

Friday, August 04, 2017

8:30 am

Final Exams, Summer Session

 

Friday, October 20, 2017

through
10/22/2017

The Enduring Legacy of Sol Spiegelman