SIB Events


Monday, January 22, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Thomas McElrath, Insect Collections Manager, INHS, UIUC - "Frontier taxonomy of little brown beetles (Coleoptera: Cucujoidea & Coccinelloidea)"

 

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

12:00 pm

Functional Impact of Post-Transcriptional Gene Networks in Health and Disease

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Amanda Adams/Degnan Lab and Nathan Clemons/Wilson Lab

 

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Jeff Stein, Illinois Natural History Survey

 

Thursday, January 25, 2018

4:00 pm

"Special" Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Melissa Kane, Rockefeller University -- "Mechanisms of resistance to retroviral infection"

 

Monday, January 29, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Chris Stone, Medical Entomologist, INHS, UIUC - "Mosquito behavioral ecology: individual traits to population- and community-level effects"

 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Genomic Ecology of Global Change

 

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Fabiany Herrara, Chicago Botanical Garden

 

Thursday, February 01, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Stacy Horner, Duke University -- "The epitranscriptome - implications for biology and viral infection"

 

Monday, February 05, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Kim Medley, Tyson Research Center, Washington University in St. Louis

 

Tuesday, February 06, 2018

4:00 pm

"Special" Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Ashley Moseman, National Institutes of Health -- "Host-Pathogen Interactions at the Olfactory Barrier"

 

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Pieter Johnson, University of Colorado-Boulder

 

Thursday, February 08, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Catharine Bosio, National Institutes of Health/NIAID -- "TBA"

 

Monday, February 12, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Viktor Gruev, Electrical and Computer Engineering, UIUC - "Bio-inspired sensors: From the ocean to the operating room"

 

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Infection Genomics for One Health

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Samantha DeWerf/Whitaker Lab and Ananya Sen/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Nancy Denslow, University of Florida

 

Thursday, February 15, 2018

4:00 pm

"Special" Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Keara Lane, Stanford University-- "TBA"

 

Monday, February 19, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Leonard Foster, University of British Columbia - "Discovering, applying and understanding biomarkers for hygienic behaviour in honey bees"

 

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

12:00 pm

Fox Family Innoation and Entrepreneurship Lecture

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Marinos Kalafatis/Slauch Lab and Andi Liu/Mitchell Lab

 

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Tanya Berger-Wolf, University of Illinois-Chicago

 

Thursday, February 22, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Richard Gourse, University of Wisconsin -- "TBA"

 

Monday, February 26, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Rachel Dentinger, University of Utah

 

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Henry Chen/Blanke Lab and Alexander Palmer/Slauch Lab

 

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Bryn Dentinger, University of Utah

 

Thursday, March 01, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Carolina Lopez, University of Pennsylvania -- "Defective viral genomes as determinants of virus and host fate during viral infections"

 

Monday, March 05, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Stephen Cameron, Purdue University - "Misbehaving mantids, loose lice and foreign fruit-flies: Adventures in Australian insect phylogenomics"

 

Tuesday, March 06, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Mining Microbial Genomes

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Elizabeth Rowland/Whitaker Lab and Michelle Goettge/Metcalf Lab

 

Wednesday, March 07, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - TBA

 

Thursday, March 08, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Valerie de Crecy-Lagard, University of Florida -- "Linking gene and function in the genomic era: examples from 7-deazapurine metabolism"

 

Monday, March 12, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Martin Beye, University of Dusseldorf - "From genes to societies: what can we learn from honeybees?"

 

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Gene Networks in Neural & Developmental Plasticity

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Shafiul Azam/Vanderpool Lab and Ik Jung Kim/Blanke Lab

 

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Mike Sheriff, Penn State University

 

Thursday, March 15, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Amy Hitchcock Camp, Mount Holyoke College -- "TBA"

 

Saturday, March 17, 2018

1:00 pm

Spring Vacation Begins

 

Monday, March 26, 2018

Instruction resumes

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Ellie Hecksher, University of Chicago

 

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Biocomplexity

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Kelley Goncalves/Shisler Lab and Jesse Grenz/Slauch Lab

 

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Andrew Esbaugh, University of Texas-Austin

 

Thursday, March 29, 2018

12:00 pm

Fox Family Innoation and Entrepreneurship Lecture

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Casey Theriot, North Carolina State University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 02, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Alex Raikhel, University of California at Riverside

 

Tuesday, April 03, 2018

8:30 am

Microbiology Student Seminar: Alex Philllips/Whitaker Lab and Yidan Zhou/Imlay Lab

8:30 am

Reconstructive Biology as a Window into Historic Optima

 

Wednesday, April 04, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Erin Mordecai, Stanford University

 

Thursday, April 05, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Johanna Elfenbein, North Carolina State University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 09, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Philip Barden, New Jersey Institute of Technology

 

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Genomic Ecology of Global Change

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Maryam Khademian/Imlay Lab and Ted Kim/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Patrick Danley, Baylor University

 

Thursday, April 12, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Dhruba Chattoraj, National Cancer Institute/NIH -- "Random vs. Cell Cycle-Regulated Replication Initiation in Bacteria: Insights from Studying Vibrio cholerae Chromosome 2"

 

Monday, April 16, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. William Wetzel, Michigan State University

 

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Gene Networks in Neural & Developmental Plasticity

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Pritha Rao/Kuzminov Lab and Jiayi Sun/Brooke Lab

 

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Karen Carleton, University of Maryland

 

Thursday, April 19, 2018

8:30 am

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Michele Swanson, University of Michigan Medical School -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 23, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Nicholas Ogden, Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa

 

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Paola Parraga Solorzano/Kehl-Fie Lab and Preethi Thattai Ragunathan/Vanderpool Lab

 

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Rebecca Safran, University of Colorado

 

Thursday, April 26, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Kevin Solomon, Purdue University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 30, 2018

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Laura Burkle, Montana State University

 

Tuesday, May 01, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - Computing Genomes for Reproductive Health

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Kristen Farley/Metcalf Lab and Zachary Schaefer/Blanke Lab

 

Wednesday, May 02, 2018

Instruction Ends

4:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Dr. Patricia Brennan, Mt. Holyoke College

 

Thursday, May 03, 2018

Reading Day/IT No Change Period in effect

 

Friday, May 04, 2018

Final Exams Begin

 

Tuesday, May 08, 2018

8:30 am

Microbiology Student Seminar: Meghan Diefenbacher/Brooke Lab and Katie Frye/Degnan Lab

 

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Commencement

 

Monday, May 14, 2018

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 1

 

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Pooja Agashe/Kuzminov Lab

 

Friday, May 18, 2018

12:00 pm

IGB Pioneers Seminar - Genomic Ecology of Global Change

 

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

4:00 pm

Microbiology Postdoc Seminar: Fadi Alnaji/Brooke Lab and Brigitte Martin/Brooke Lab

 

Monday, June 11, 2018

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 2

 

Thursday, August 02, 2018

12:00 pm

Instruction Ends, Summer Session

 

Friday, August 03, 2018

8:30 am

Final Exams, Summer Session