Department of
Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior Students and Postdocs

Students

portrait of Antonson, Nicholas Antonson, Nicholas

nda4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, avian brood parasitism, coevolution, and the effect of parental care on brood parasites (advisor: Mark Hauber)

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Behrens, Colby Behrens, Colby

colbybb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Examining genetic mechanisms influencing behavior in three-spined stickleback fish (Advisor: Alison Bell)
portrait of Capel, Samantha Capel, Samantha

scapel2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
(Advisor: Ken Paige)
portrait of Chabain, Jules Chabain, Jules

chabain2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Former paleontologist puzzled by animal weaponery and the linkage between shape, function and performance; using biomechanics, ct-scanned data, and comparative anatomy (advisor: Phil Anderson)
portrait of Darcy, Hannah Darcy, Hannah

hdarcy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Morphology of the salamander skull, comparative biomechanics of feePding in land-to-water transitions, and biological material properties (advisor: Phil Anderson)
portrait of Drager, Kim Drager, Kim

kdrager2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Nest architecture of soil dwelling ants (both ancient and modern) and how nest structure varies between ant species and geological environments (advisor: Andrew Suarez)
portrait of Grispo, Michael Grispo, Michael

mgrispo@gmail.com

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Fitness of organisms from aquatic to terrestrial (fish lenses) (advisor: Chris Cheng)
portrait of Jones, Cody Jones, Cody

cpjones2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Looking at the interplay between overcompensation and endoreduplication, specifically in the model system, soybean (advisor: Ken Paige)
portrait of Laserna Cowal, Alessa Laserna Cowal, Alessa

laserna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Wildlife responses to anthropogenic changes, animal behavior, wildlife conservation (advisor: Ken Paige)
portrait of Lawson, Shelby Lawson, Shelby

slawson3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, breeding strategies, mate choice, vocal communication/perception in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
portrait of Luro, Alec Luro, Alec

alecl2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral & cognitive ecology, evolution, avian brood parasitism and species recognition in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
portrait of McDaniel, Lauren McDaniel, Lauren

lkm4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavior, sexual selection, and speciation in killifish (advisor Becky Fuller)
portrait of Rayamajhi, Niraj Rayamajhi, Niraj

nirajr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Population genomics of natural populations and computational biology (advisor: Julian Catchen)
portrait of Rivera-Colón, Angel Rivera-Colón, Angel

angelgr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Genomics, genome evolution (advisor: Julian Catchen)
portrait of Scharf, Hannah Scharf, Hannah

hscharf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, social and mating systems, avian brood parasitism (advisor: Mark Hauber)
portrait of Schwing, Cameron Schwing, Cameron

cschwin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Effects of manipulating larval mosquito habitat on development and fitness (advisor: Carla Cáceres)
portrait of Scott, Bradley Scott, Bradley

brscott2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Early evolution of vertebrates, specifically the changes in feeding and locomotion associated with the transition from jawless to jawed vertebrates. I seek to understand these changes using paleontology, functional morphology, and biomechanics (advisor: Phil Anderson)
portrait of Strickland, Lynette Strickland, Lynette

lrstric2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Genetic and developmental mechanisms of color variation in Cassidine beetles, it's ecological significance and how color polymorphisms are maintained in populations (advisor: Carla Caceres)
portrait of Wilson, Loralee Wilson, Loralee

ljwilso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
(advisor: Chris Cheng)
portrait of Wszalek, Andrew Wszalek, Andrew

wszalek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Physical and chemical compensatory responses of soybeans following damage (advisor: Ken Paige)

Postdoctoral Researchers

portrait of Abolins-Abols, Mikus Abolins-Abols, Mikus
Postdoc Research Associate
abolins@illinois.edu
MC-122
portrait of Bensky, Miles Bensky, Miles
Postdoc Research Associate
bensky2@illinois.edu
MC-122
portrait of Bukhari, Syed Abbas Bukhari, Syed Abbas
Postdoc Research Associate
sbukhar@illinois.edu
MC-122
portrait of Crofts, Stephanie Crofts, Stephanie
Postdoc Research Associate
scrofts@illinois.edu
MC-122

Lab site
portrait of Hellmann, Jennifer Hellmann, Jennifer
Postdoc Research Associate
hellmann@illinois.edu
435 Morrill Hall
MC-122
portrait of Keagy, Jason Keagy, Jason
Postdoc Research Associate
keagy@illinois.edu
435 Morrill Hall
MC-122