Department of
Entomology

Entomology Directory

portrait of Ahmed, Amy Ahmed, Amy

amycash@illinois.edu
449 Morrill Hall
217-333-6843

Research Specialist
Molecular basis of honey bee social behavior
portrait of Allan, Brian Allan, Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor - Entomology
Affiliate - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
PEEC
Ecology of infectious diseases
portrait of Alleyne, Marianne Alleyne, Marianne

vanlaarh@illinois.edu
518B Morrill Hall
217-333-8652

Assistant Professor - Entomology
Graduate Director of Online Master of Science Teaching Biology Program - School of Integrative Biology
Bioinspired Design
portrait of Anderson, Nicholas Anderson, Nicholas

nlndrsn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Insect community responses to conservation and restoration and native bee ecology

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Bello, Lizzie Bello, Lizzie

ebello2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Bioinspired design and materials

Advisor: Marianne Alleyne
portrait of Berenbaum, May Berenbaum, May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head - Entomology
Professor - Plant Biology
Swanlund Chair
PEEC
Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
portrait of Berlocher, Stewart Berlocher, Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Emeritus Professor - Entomology
Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution
portrait of Beshers, Samuel Beshers, Samuel

beshers@illinois.edu
318B Morrill Hall
(217) 333-4971

Retired--Neuroscience Program Coordinator
and Entomology Affiliate
Organization and behavior of ant colonies
portrait of Bush, Daniel Bush, Daniel

dsbush2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Navel orangeworm's relationship with Aspergillus mold

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Cáceres, Carla Cáceres, Carla

cecacere@illinois.edu
433 Morrill Hall
217-244-2139

Director - School of Integrative Biology
Professor - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
PEEC
Population, community and evolutionary ecology; life-history evolution; disease ecology; limnology
portrait of Calla, Bernarda Calla, Bernarda

calla2@illinois.edu
216C Morrill Hall

Postdoc Research Associate - Entomology

portrait of Cameron, Sydney Cameron, Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
portrait of Clem, C. Scott Clem, C. Scott

carlc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Hover fly (Diptera: Syrphidae) migratory ecology and behavior

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Coburn, Kat Coburn, Kat

kcoburn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Prairie restoration/conservation strategies and their effects on habitat quality and native pollinator community ecology

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Dana, Catherine Dana, Catherine

cdana2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Cicada conservation and natural history

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Davis, Mark Davis, Mark

davis63@illinois.edu
1816 S. Oak St. Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6960

Conservation Biologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior; Entomology
Phylogenetics, conservation genetics, population genetics, genomics, environmental DNA
portrait of De Moya, Robert De Moya, Robert

rdemoya2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Examining the coevolution patterns between parasitic bird lice and their hosts

Advisor: Kevin Johnson
portrait of Dean, Charles Dean, Charles

cedean2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Ecological and genomic basis of plant-insect interactions, specifically within webworm (Depressaria spp.) and Apiaceous plant coevolutionary systems

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Deem, Lesley Deem, Lesley

lesleyd@illinois.edu
457 Morrill Hall
217-333-2070

Pollinatarium Coordinator
Plant Insect Interactions
portrait of Delcomyn, Fred Delcomyn, Fred

delcomyn@illinois.edu
357 Morrill Hall
217-333-8793

Professor Emeritus - Entomology
Director Emeritus - School of Integrative Biology
Physiological basis of insect behavior
portrait of DeWalt, Ed DeWalt, Ed

dewalt@illinois.edu
2025 (ofc) / 2000 (lab) Robert A. Evers Laboratory
217-649-7414

Aquatic Entomologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology
Taxonomy, ecology, and conservation of aquatic insects
portrait of Dietrich, Christopher Dietrich, Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Associate Center Director, Systematic Entomologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology
PEEC
Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
portrait of Dolezal, Adam Dolezal, Adam G

adolezal@illinois.edu
349B Morrill Hall
217-300-6762

Assistant Professor - Entomology
PEEC
How do environmental stressors interact to affect bee health?
portrait of Flenniken, Matt Flenniken, Matt

jeffryf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Effects of environmental change on vector ecology

Advisor: Brian Allan
portrait of Francis, Bettina Francis, Bettina

bfrancis@illinois.edu
679 Morrill Hall
217-333-5136

Associate Professor Emerita - Entomology
Environmental and developmental toxicology
portrait of Fredericks, Page Fredericks, Page

lpfreder@illinois.edu
339 Morrill Hall
217-244-3023

Research Specialist - Entomology
Land use effects on pathogens in ticks
portrait of Fulton, Todd Fulton, Todd

t-fulton@illinois.edu

Insectary

portrait of Gibson, Joshua Gibson, Joshua

jcgibso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Evolution of trap-jaw mechanism in ants

Advisor: Andrew V. Suarez
portrait of Gray, Michael Gray, Michael

megray@illinois.edu
N-305 Turner Hall
217-333-4424

Professor Emeritus - Crop Sciences
Affiliate - Entomology
Integrated pest management
portrait of Grommes, Anna Grommes, Anna

grommes2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Chemical ecology of beetles in the families Cerambycidae and Elateridae

Advisor: Lawrence Hanks
portrait of Hanks, Lawrence Hanks, Lawrence

hanks@illinois.edu

Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Chemical ecology and conservation biological control
portrait of Harmon-Threatt, Alex Harmon-Threatt, Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall
217-333-3108

Associate Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Pollination Ecology, Conservation, and Restoration
portrait of Harwood, Gyan Harwood, Gyan

gharwood@illinois.edu

Postdoc Research Associate - Entomology

portrait of Heads, Sam Heads, Sam

swheads@illinois.edu
Paleontology, Forbes Natural History Bldg., 1816 S. Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9448

Director, Center for Paleontology - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology, Geology

portrait of Hearon, Luke Hearon, Luke

lhearon2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Predator-prey dynamics in mosquito communities

Advisor: Carla Cáceres
portrait of Hernandez, Erica Hernandez, Erica

ejherna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Ecology and management of ticks and of tick-borne diseases in residential and recreational areas near natural spaces

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Hsieh, Edward Hsieh, Edward

emhsieh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The properties of phytochemicals in honeybee honey and general honeybee behavior

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Johnson, Kevin Johnson, Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Principal Ornithologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior; Entomology
PEEC
Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
portrait of Larson, Eric Larson, Eric

erlarson@illinois.edu
W-421 Turner Hall

Assistant Professor - Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
Affiliate - Entomology
PEEC
NRES, PEEC
portrait of Leigh, Kim Leigh, Kim

kaleigh@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall
217-333-2910

Administrative Aide - Entomology & OMST

portrait of Liao, Ling-Hsiu Liao, Ling-Hsiu

liao19@illinois.edu

Postdoc Research Associate - Entomology
Honeybees toxicology (advisor: May Berenbaum)
portrait of Mackert, Morgan Mackert, Morgan

mmackert@illinois.edu

Research Specialist - Entomology

portrait of Martin Blazquez, Ruben Martin Blazquez, Ruben

rumabl@illinois.edu

Postdoc Research Associate - Entomology

portrait of McElrath, Thomas McElrath, Thomas

tcm@illinois.edu
291 Natural Resource Building

Insect Collection Manager - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology

portrait of Molano-Flores, Brenda Molano-Flores, Brenda

molano1@illinois.edu
2012 Natural Resource Building

Senior Plant Ecologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology; Plant Biology
plant-insect interactions, reproductive biology of plants, population biology, conservation biology; restoration
portrait of Mongold-Diers, Judith Mongold-Diers, Judith

jdiers@illinois.edu
420 Morrill Hall
217-333-7783

Academic hourly - Entomology

portrait of Montag, William Montag, William

montag2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Conservation of soil and litter dwelling insects, especially beetles

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Morris, Brendan Morris, Brendan

bomorri2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Historical biogeography and systematics of Carribean treehoppers (Hemiptera: Membracidae)

Advisor: Christopher Dietrich
portrait of Murphree, Maggie Murphree, Maggie

sarahmm5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Emergent behavior, division of labor, and social networks of honey bee colonies

Advisor: Gene Robinson
portrait of Nardi, James Nardi, James B.

j-nardi@illinois.edu
315 Morrill Hall
217-333-6590

Research Scientist - Entomology
Development of insect stem cells
portrait of Newman, Evan Newman, Evan

evanan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Distribution patterns of Plecoptera (Stoneflies) of the midwest

Advisor: Ed DeWalt
portrait of Ngumbi, Esther Ngumbi, Esther

enn@illinois.edu

Assistant Professor - Entomology;
African American Studies
Broadly interested in understanding the multifaceted uses of chemical signals (both volatile and non-volatile) by herbivores, natural enemies, plants and their associated microorganisms and insects. Moreover, my research on beneficial soil microbes seeks to find microbial-based solutions for improving crop production, alleviating drought stress in crop plants and sustainable pest management. We use a comparative approach with model tritrophic systems and employ several chemical ecology tools.
portrait of Noel, Kylee Noel, Kylee

krnoel@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Genetic and physiological effects of insecticide resistance in mosquitoes; scientific outreach to the community to encourage citizen science

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Ratcliffe, Susan Ratcliffe, Susan

sratclif@illinois.edu
S-316 Turner Hall
217-333-9656

Program Manager - Crop Sciences
Affiliate - Entomology
Integrated pest management
portrait of Riecks-Soucek, David Riecks-Soucek, David

soucek@illinois.edu
107 NRS Annx.
217-265-5489

Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology
Aquatic ecotoxicology
portrait of Robertson, Hugh Robertson, Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
417 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor Emeritus - Entomology
PEEC
The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
portrait of Robinson, Gene Robinson, Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Director - Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Swanlund Chair
Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Insect social behavior and genomics
portrait of Schneider, Daniel Schneider, Daniel

ddws@illinois.edu
111 Temple Buell Hall
217-244-7681

Professor - Urban and Regional Planning
PEEC
Aquatic invertebrate ecology; ecology of invasive species; environmental history
portrait of Schuler, Mary Schuler, Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Professor - Plant Biology; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology
Affiliate - Entomology
Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
portrait of Sinha, Saurabh Sinha, Saurabh

sinhas@illinois.edu

Professor and Willett Faculty Scholar - Computer Science
Affiliate - Entomology

portrait of Skinner, Rachel Skinner, Rachel

rskinn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Taxonomy, phylogenetics, and biogeography of treehoppers in Membracidae

Advisor: Christopher Dietrich
portrait of South, Eric South, Eric

ejsouth@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Stonefly taxonomy and systematics

Advisor: Ed DeWalt
portrait of Spencer, Joseph Spencer, Joseph

spencer1@illinois.edu
2089 Forbes Natural History Building
(217) 244-6851

Principal Insect Behaviorist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology
Mechanisms of behavior in crop insect pests
portrait of St. Clair, Ashley St. Clair, Ashley

astclair@illinois.edu

Postdoc Research Associate

portrait of Stone, Chris Stone, Chris

cstone@illinois.edu

Medical Entomologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology

portrait of Struckhoff, Emily Struckhoff, Emily

emilyds@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The taxonomy, natural history, and biogeography of ticks in Illinois

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Suarez, Andrew Suarez, Andrew V.

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-6631

Professor and Head - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
portrait of Swanson, Daniel Swanson, Daniel

drswans2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Systematics of assassin bugs

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Taylor, Lincoln Taylor, Lincoln

lnt3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Interactions between honey bees and their pathogens, in particular honey bee behavior

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Tetlie, Jonathan Tetlie, Jonathan

jtetlie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The lingering impact of agricultural practices on habitat restoration efforts of prairies and their effect on native bee communities

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Thomas, M. Jared Thomas, M. Jared

thomasmj@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Paleoentomology with emphasis on Tetrigidae (pygmy grasshoppers)

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Torres, Jacob Torres, Jacob

jacobdt3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Native bee ecology, urban ecology, bee/pollinator health, and insect microbiomes

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Voegtlin, David Voegtlin, David

dvoegtli@illinois.edu

244-2152

Retired - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology
Biology and taxonomy of aphids, retired
portrait of Wargin, Annaliese Wargin, Annaliese

awargin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The ecology of native pollinators in restored landscapes; insect behavioral responses to abiotic change

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Warnow, Tandy Warnow, Tandy

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
217-300-3087

Founder Professor and Associate Head - Computer Science
Affiliate - Entomology; Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior; Plant Biology
PEEC
Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics
portrait of Whitfield, James Whitfield, James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor - Entomology
PEEC
Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
portrait of Williams, Cariad Williams, Cariad

cariadw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Wide range of research interests within palaeontology including biomechanics of vertebrates, exceptional preservation of arthropods and taphonomic processes within the fossil record

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Wilson, Sara Wilson, Sara

smw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Mosquito feeding behavior and control

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Wu, Wen-Yen Wu, Wen-Yen

wywu@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Chemical ecology of insects

Advisor: May Berenbaum