Faculty by Department

Plant Biology

Ainsworth head shot Ainsworth, Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML
217-265-9887

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Carolaug Augspurger, Carol

carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
217-333-1298

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phenology of trees and herbs, wind dispersal, seed and seedling ecology of tropical trees, plant-pathogen interactions
20160123 9k5b0658 Bernacchi, Carl J

bernacch@illinois.edu
(217) 333-8048

Associate Professor
Plant Biology

Impacts of climate change on crop physiology, energy fluxes between the atmosphere and plant canopies, carbon sequestration, crop canopy responses to stress
Dbriskin Briskin, Donald

dbriskin@illinois.edu
380 NSRC
217-244-1115

Affiliate
Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology, Plant Biology

Plant products, medicinal plants, environmental effects on plant natural product chemistry
J cheese Cheeseman, John M.

j-cheese@illinois.edu
196 ERML
217-300-9323

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Control and integration of resource acquisition and allocation in plants, organismal physiology, photosynthesis, nutrient transport; mathematical modeling
Chen  l. Chen, Li-Qing

lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

Control of sugar allocation to improve crop yield or biomass for food and biofuels
Photo Conroy, Jessica

jconro@illinois.edu
217-333-3540

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

My research is focused on understanding the modern climate system and reconstructing past climate variability using biological, chemical, and physical archives of climate and environmental change found in lake sediments.
Photo Crang, Richard

r-crang@illinois.edu
217-333-0616

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Microscopic analysis of plants and fungi under environmental stress
Photo Dalling, James

dalling@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest dynamics, plant-soil and plant-fungal interactions, seed ecology
Delucia DeLucia, Evan H.

delucia@illinois.edu

G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director, Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
Plant Biology, PEEC

Physiological ecology of vascular plants, photosynthesis, plant architecture, stress, climate change
Downie Downie, Stephen R.

sdownie@illinois.edu
239 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1275

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC, School of Integrative Biology

Systematics and evolution of flowering plants, with emphasis on the family Apiaceae; chloroplast genome structural evolution
Gov Govindjee

gov@illinois.edu
217-333-1794

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

History of photosynthesis
Heath %282%29 Heath, Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Fhu Hu, Feng Sheng

fshu@illinois.edu
2090 Lincoln Hall
217-244-2982

Professor and Dean of LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
Plant Biology, PEEC

Ecosystem ecology, quaternary paleoecology, climatic change and biotic response, soil and sediment biogeochemistry
Huber portrait 2017 Huber, Steven Carl

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
217-265-0909

Professor
Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

Identification of biological mechanisms that regulate important plant processes and impact growth and development
Leakey andrew171020 03 Leakey, Andrew D.B.

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor and University Scholar
Plant Biology, PEEC

Integrative plant physiology, genetics and genomics; plant water use efficiency, photosynthesis and carbon metabolism; crop responses to elevated CO2, drought, temperature and ozone; crop sustainability and responses to global environmental change
Slong Long, Stephen

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
217-244-0881

Gutgsell Endowed Professor
Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

Environmental physiology, atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation, C4 photosynthesis, energy crops, mathematical models of photosynthesis
Marshall colon  a. Marshall-Colon, Amy

amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
333-2377

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

Integrating genomics and metabolomics to investigate the regulatory cross-talk between primary and secondary metabolism.
Amiller7 Miller, Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
Photo Ming, Ray

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
217-333-1221

Professor
Plant Biology

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane, coffee and pineapple
Photo Molano-Flores, Brenda

molano1@illinois.edu

Affiliate, Senior Plant Ecologist
Entomology, Plant Biology, INHS

plant-insect interactions, reproductive biology of plants, population biology, conservation biology; restoration
Jodwyer O'Dwyer, James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Photo Ort, Donald

d-ort@illinois.edu
1406 IGB
217-333-2093

Professor
Plant Biology

Molecular and biochemical basis for environmental effects on photosynthesis, photosynthetic energy transduction
Photo Phillips, Tom

tlphilli@life.illinois.edu
57 Morrill Hall
217-333-0653

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Paleobotany with an emphasis on flora of the Carboniferous period
Photo Punyasena, Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Photo Sargent, Malcolm

malcolms@illinois.edu
217-333-0287

Associate Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Creation of user friendly, perspective oriented guides for the identification of bryophytes (mosses, liverworts and hornworts)
Photo Schuler, Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate, Professor
Entomology, Plant Biology, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Seigler Seigler, David

daveseig@illinois.edu
217-333-7577

Professor Emeritus & Curator of Herbarium
Plant Biology

Phytochemistry, chemical ecology, plant systematics, secondary products as mosquito insecticides, antioxidants from berries, systematics of Acacia species
Carolshe Shearer, Carol

carolshe@illinois.edu
655B Morrill Hall
217-333-2796

Professor Emerita
Plant Biology

Ecology of freshwater saprophytic fungal communities, systematics and biogeography of freshwater ascomycetes and fungi imperfecti
Yeng 274 Yang, Wendy H.

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
217-244-2614

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Terrestrial biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, stable isotope ecology, soil-atmosphere greenhouse gas dynamics, climate change
Photo Zielinski, Raymond

rez@illinois.edu
192 ERML
217-333-6785

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Calmodulin, calcium-binding proteins, signal transduction, regulation of gene expression

Back to Faculty Search