Faculty by Department

Plant Biology

Ainswort Ainsworth,  Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML/1408 IGB
217-265-9887

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, leaf growth and development, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Carolaug Augspurger,  Carol

carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
217-333-1298

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phenology of trees and herbs, wind dispersal, seed and seedling ecology of tropical trees, plant-pathogen interactions
Bernacch Bernacchi,  Carl

bernacch@illinois.edu

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Impacts of climate change on crop physiology, energy fluxes between the atmosphere and plant canopies, carbon sequestration, crop canopy responses to stress
Dbriskin Briskin,  Donald

dbriskin@illinois.edu
380 NSRC
217-244-1115

Affiliate
Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology, Plant Biology

Plant products, medicinal plants, environmental effects on plant natural product chemistry
J cheese Cheeseman,  John M.

j-cheese@illinois.edu
196 ERML
217-300-9323

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Control and integration of resource acquisition and allocation in plants, organismal physiology, photosynthesis, nutrient transport; mathematical modeling
Chen  l. Chen,  Li-Qing

lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

Plant Biology
Photo Conroy,  Jessica

jconro@illinois.edu
217-333-3540

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Photo Crang,  Richard

r-crang@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-0616

Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Microscopic analysis of plants and fungi under environmental stress
Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
Jdawson2 Dawson,  Jeffrey

jdawson2@illinois.edu
1316 PSL
217-333-9281

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology, PEEC

Symbiotic nitrogen fixation by woody plants, forest ecophysiology, soil microbiology, plant nitrogen nutrition, silviculture, forest ecology, urban forestry
Delucia DeLucia,  Evan H.

delucia@illinois.edu

G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director, Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
Plant Biology, PEEC

Physiological ecology of vascular plants, photosynthesis, plant architecture, stress, climate change
Downie Downie,  Stephen

sdownie@illinois.edu
217-333-1275

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC

Molecular systematics and phylogeny of extant angiosperms, with emphasis on Apiaceae (Umbelliferae), chloroplast genome structural evolution
Gov Govindjee,  

gov@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-1794

Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

History of photosynthesis
Egrimm Grimm,  Eric

egrimm@illinois.edu
Illinois State Museum
217-785-4846

Affiliate
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Kheath Heath,  Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Associate Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Photo Hill,  Steven

srhill50@illinois.edu
382 NRB
217-244-8452

Affiliate
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Systematics of Malvaceae (cotton family), threatened and endangered plants, flora of Dominica
Fhu Hu,  Feng Sheng

fhu@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-2982

Professor and Dean of LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology, PEEC

Ecosystem ecology, quaternary paleoecology, climatic change and biotic response, soil and sediment biogeochemistry
Photo Huber,  Steven

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
217-265-0909

Professor
Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

Regulation of carbon and nitrogen metabolism in source and sink tissues with emphases on nitrate reductase, sucrose synthase and protein kinase specificity
Photo Jones,  Almut

jones@life.illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall

Associate Professor Emerita
Plant Biology

Plant systematics with an emphasis on plants of Illinois
Photo Leakey,  Andrew

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Genomic ecology of plant ecological strategies, genomic responses to climate change, response of maize to elevated carbon dioxide and drought
Levin1 Levin,  Geoffrey

levin1@illinois.edu
1012 Forbes Building
217-244-7481

Affiliate
Plant Biology

Systematics of flowering plants with particular emphasis on the Euphorbiaceae, phylogenetic analysis, floristics of North America and Mexico
Slong Long,  Stephen

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
217-244-0881

Gutgsell Endowed Professor
Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

Environmental physiology, atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation, C4 photosynthesis, energy crops, mathematical models of photosynthesis
Marshall colon  a. Marshall-Colon,  Amy

amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
333-2377

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

Amiller7 Miller,  Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
Photo Ming,  Ray

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
217-333-1221

Professor
Plant Biology

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane, coffee and pineapple
Photo Molano-Flores,  Brenda

molano1@illinois.edu

Affiliate
Entomology, Plant Biology

Prairie restoration, plant-insect interactions, reproductive biology of plants, population biology, conservation biology
Nevling Nevling,  Lorin

nevling@illinois.edu
299 NRB
244-2750

Emeritus
Plant Biology

Jodwyer O'Dwyer,  James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Photo Ort,  Donald

d-ort@life.illinois.edu
1406 IGB
217-333-2093

Professor
Plant Biology

Molecular and biochemical basis for environmental effects on photosynthesis, photosynthetic energy transduction
Photo Phillips,  Tom

tlphilli@life.illinois.edu
57 Morrill Hall
217-333-0653

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Paleobotany with an emphasis on flora of the Carboniferous period
Photo Punyasena,  Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Krrobert Robertson,  Kenneth

krrobert@illinois.edu
393 NRB
217-244-2171

Emeritus
Plant Biology

Systematics with emphases on Rosaceae, Amaranthaceae and Convolvulaceae, flowering plants of the Illinois prairie
Photo Sargent,  Malcolm

malcolms@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-0287

Associate Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Creation of user friendly, perspective oriented guides for the identification of bryophytes (mosses, liverworts and hornworts)
Photo Schuler,  Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate
Entomology, Plant Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Seigler Seigler,  David

daveseig@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-7577

Professor Emeritus & Curator of Herbarium
Plant Biology, PEEC

Phytochemistry, chemical ecology, plant systematics, secondary products as mosquito insecticides, antioxidants from berries, systematics of Acacia species
Carolshe Shearer,  Carol

carolshe@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-2796

Professor Emerita
Plant Biology

Ecology of freshwater saprophytic fungal communities, systematics and biogeography of freshwater ascomycetes and fungi imperfecti
Photo Taft,  John

jtaft@illinois.edu
399 NRB
217-244-5046

Research Affiliate
Plant Biology

Plant ecology and fire effects in oak woodland communities, floristic integrity for Illinois flora, vegetation ecology of grasslands, unique habitats in Illinois
Yangw Yang,  Wendy

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
217-244-2614

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Terrestrial biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, stable isotope ecology, soil-atmosphere greenhouse gas dynamics, climate change
Photo Zielinski,  Raymond

rez@illinois.edu
192 ERML
217-333-6785

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Calmodulin, calcium-binding proteins, signal transduction, regulation of gene expression

Back to Faculty Search