Faculty by Department

Entomology

Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology of infectious diseases
Alleyne Alleyne,  Marianne

vanlaarh@illinois.edu
518B Morrill Hall
217-333-8652

Research Scientist; Director of Online Teaching and Learning
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Host-parasitoid interactions
Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Photo Berlocher,  Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution
Photo Beshers,  Samuel

beshers@illinois.edu
318B Morrill Hall
217-244-0420

Neuroscience Program Coordinator
School of Integrative Biology, Entomology

Organization and behavior of ant colonies
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
Markdavis Davis,  Mark

davis63@illinois.edu
1816 S. Oak St. Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6960

Affiliate, Conservation Biologist
Entomology, INHS

Phylogenetics, conservation genetics, population genetics, genomics, environmental DNA
Photo Delcomyn,  Fred

delcomyn@illinois.edu
357 Morrill Hall
217-333-8793

Professor Emeritus; Director Emeritus SIB
Entomology

Physiological basis of insect behavior
Dewalt DeWalt,  Ed

dewalt@illinois.edu
2025 (ofc) / 2000 (lab) Robert A. Evers Laboratory
217-649-7414

Affiliate, Aquatic Entomologist
Entomology, INHS

Taxonomy, ecology, and conservation of aquatic insects
Dietrich Dietrich,  Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Affiliate, Associate Center Director, Systematic Entomologist
Entomology, PEEC, INHS

Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
Bfrancis Francis,  Bettina

bfrancis@illinois.edu
679 Morrill Hall
217-333-5136

Associate Professor
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Environmental and developmental toxicology
Megray Gray,  Michael

megray@illinois.edu
N-305 Turner Hall
217-333-4424

Professor Emeritus, Affiliate
Entomology, Crop Sciences

Integrated pest management
No photo Hanks,  Lawrence

hanks@illinois.edu

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical ecology and conservation biological control
Akh Hansen,  Allison

akh@illinois.edu
365 Morrill Hall
217-244-5889

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Genomics of insect-microbe interactions; integrated animal-microbe metabolisms; evolutionary genomics; microbiomes
Aht Harmon-Threatt,  Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall
217-333-3108

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Pollination Ecology, Conservation and Restoration
Swheads Heads,  Sam

swheads@illinois.edu
217-244-9448

Affiliate, Lead Paleontologist
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology, INHS

Kpjohnso Johnson,  Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate, Principal Ornithologist
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
Photo Molano-Flores,  Brenda

molano1@illinois.edu

Affiliate, Senior Plant Ecologist
Entomology, Plant Biology, INHS

Prairie restoration, plant-insect interactions, reproductive biology of plants, population biology, conservation biology
Sratclif Ratcliffe,  Susan

sratclif@illinois.edu
S-316 Turner Hall
217-333-9656

Affiliate, Program Manager-Crop Sciences
Entomology, INHS, Crop Sciences

Integrated pest management
Soucek Riecks-Soucek,  David

soucek@illinois.edu
107 NRS Annx.
217-265-5489

Affiliate, Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist
Entomology, INHS

Aquatic ecotoxicology
Hughrobe Robertson,  Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
417 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson,  Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Photo Schuler,  Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate, Professor
Entomology, Plant Biology, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Lsolter Solter,  Leellen

lsolter@illinois.edu
140 NSRC
217-244-5047

Affiliate, Insect Pathologist Section Leader
Entomology, INHS

Insect pathology
Josephspencer Spencer,  Joseph

spencer1@illinois.edu
2089 Forbes Natural History Building
(217) 244-6851

Affiliate, Principal Insect Behaviorist
Entomology, INHS

Mechanisms of behavior in crop insect pests
Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Sjtaylor Taylor,  Steven

sjtaylor@illinois.edu
229 Natural Resources Studies Annex
217-244-1122

Affiliate, Senior Conservation Biologist
INHS, PEEC, Entomology

Cave and karst biology, conservation, and management
Dvoegtli Voegtlin,  David

dvoegtli@illinois.edu
244-2152

Affiliate
Entomology, INHS

Biology and taxonomy of aphids, retired
Warnow Warnow,  Tandy

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
217-300-3087

Affiliate, Professor
Entomology, Animal Biology, PEEC

Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics
Cww Whitfield,  Charles

cww@illinois.edu
422 Morrill Hall
217-244-2889

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Molecular mechanisms and molecular evolution of social behavior, using social insects as a model; natural variation in individual behavior; high throughput genotyping and gene expression analyses
Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps

Back to Faculty Search