Faculty by Department

Animal Biology

Philip anderson Anderson,  Philip

andersps@illinois.edu

Assistant Professor
Animal Biology

Photo Batzli,  George

g-batzli@illinois.edu
200 Shelford Vivarium
333-0894

Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Animal Biology

Population, community, and behavioral ecology of mammals; plant-animal interactions; nutritional ecology of herbivores; arctic ecology
Photo Bell,  Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Photo Brown,  Edward

e-brown1@illinois.edu

Associate Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Animal Biology

Carlacaceres thumb C├íceres,  Carla

cecacere@illinois.edu
433 Morrill Hall
217-244-2139

Professor, SIB Director
Animal Biology

Population, community and evolutionary ecology; life-history evolution; ecology of infectious disease; limnology
Catchen julian 2006 Catchen,  Julian

jcatchen@illinois.edu
233 Morrill Hall
217-244-4298

Assistant Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolution of the genome; identifying large structural variation in populations of threespine stickleback using a synthesis of genetic mapping, genome assembly, and mate-pair sequencing
C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Molecular evolution of fish antifreeze protein genes, particularly evolutionary origins and molecular mechanisms of new gene genesis; temporal relationship between evolution of antifreeze function and paleobiogeography of polar regions
Clancy Clancy,  Kathryn

kclancy@illinois.edu
109 Davenport Hall
217-244-1509

Associate Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Human reproductive ecologist who specializes in women's health, endometrial function and evolutionary medicine. Dr. Clancy's work challenges assumptions about what constitutes normal reproductive physiology, and clinical threshold hypotheses regarding health.
Adevries DeVries,  Arthur

adevries@illinois.edu
17C Burrill Hall
217-333-4245

Professor Emeritus
Animal Biology

Antarctic and Arctic fish biology: Cold adaptation and biological antifreeze systems; ecological and evolutionary physiology; life histories of Antarctic notothenioid fish; expression of antifreeze proteins during development; protein structures and molec
Fuller Fuller,  Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
L getz Getz,  Lowell

l-getz@life.illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall

Professor Emeritus
Animal Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Population ecology; demography, social organization, and behavioral ecology of small mammals; ecology of terrestrial mollusks
Hauber Hauber,  Mark

mhauber@illinois.edu
469 Morrill Hall

Harley Jones Van Cleave Professor of Host-Parasite Interactions
Animal Biology

Kpjohnso Johnson,  Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
R larkin Larkin,  Ronald

r-larkin@illinois.edu
2021 I-Bldg.
333-7513

Adjunct Associate Professor, Affiliate
INHS, Animal Biology

Wildlife ecology in disturbed environments; avian migration, orientation, energetics, and communication; small-scale atmospheric motions and flying animals
Malhi Malhi,  Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities; use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; North America
Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology
Philipp Philipp,  David

philipp@illinois.edu
237 NRSA
217-369-2952

Research Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Fish genetics and evolution; identification, characterization and conservation of fish stocks; evolution of structural and regulatory genes; behavioral genetics of fishes
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
No photo Roseman,  Charles

croseman@illinois.edu
217-244-3513

Associate Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
681 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Warnow Warnow,  Tandy

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
217-300-3087

Professor
Entomology, Animal Biology, PEEC

Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics
Gswhitt Whitt,  Gregory

gswhitt@illinois.edu
469 Morrill Hall
217-333-4645

Professor Emeritus
Animal Biology

Evolutionary genetics & phylogenetic relationships of fishes. Isozymes & other molecular characters used to investigate evolutionary relationships & to infer patterns of gene structural & regulatory evolution. Biochemical genetics & evolution of teleosts

Back to Faculty Search