SIB Directory

Enter name you wish to find; beginning letters are sufficient.

This is a list of faculty that have historically accepted undergraduates into their labs for IB 390 or 490 credit. This list does NOT indicate that faculty currently have openings in their labs. Students must contact faculty individually to learn about potential openings in the lab.

IB 390/IB 490 Faculty

Ainswort Ainsworth,  Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML/1408 IGB
217-265-9887

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, leaf growth and development, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Photo Allan,  Brian

ballan@illinois.edu
339A Morrill Hall
217-244-1341

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology of infectious diseases
Alleyne Alleyne,  Marianne

vanlaarh@illinois.edu
317 Morrill Hall
217-333-8652

Research Scientist; Director of Online Teaching and Learning
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Host-parasitoid interactions
Photo Bell,  Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Maybe Berenbaum,  May

maybe@illinois.edu
318B Morrill Hall / 216A Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Photo Berlocher,  Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution
Bernacch Bernacchi,  Carl

bernacch@illinois.edu

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Impacts of climate change on crop physiology, energy fluxes between the atmosphere and plant canopies, carbon sequestration, crop canopy responses to stress
Jbrawn Brawn,  Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Carlacaceres thumb C├íceres,  Carla

cecacere@illinois.edu
433 Morrill Hall
217-244-2139

Professor, SIB Director
Animal Biology

Population, community and evolutionary ecology; life-history evolution; ecology of infectious disease; limnology
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
Catchen julian 2006 Catchen,  Julian

jcatchen@illinois.edu
233 Morrill Hall
217-244-4298

Assistant Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolution of the genome; identifying large structural variation in populations of threespine stickleback using a synthesis of genetic mapping, genome assembly, and mate-pair sequencing
No photo Chen,  Li-Qing

lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801

Assistant Professor

Plant Biology
C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Molecular evolution of fish antifreeze protein genes, particularly evolutionary origins and molecular mechanisms of new gene genesis; temporal relationship between evolution of antifreeze function and paleobiogeography of polar regions
Photo Conroy,  Jessica

jconro@illinois.edu
217-333-3540

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Photo Dalling,  James

dalling@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest regeneration, seed and seedling ecology, pioneer species
Delucia DeLucia,  Evan H.

delucia@illinois.edu

G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director, Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
Plant Biology, PEEC

Physiological ecology of vascular plants, photosynthesis, plant architecture, stress, climate change
Dewalt DeWalt,  Ed

dewalt@illinois.edu
2025 (ofc) / 2000 (lab) Robert A. Evers Laboratory
217-649-7414

Affiliate
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Taxonomy, ecology, and conservation of aquatic insects
Dietrich Dietrich,  Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Affiliate, Associate Center Director
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
Photo Downie,  Stephen

sdownie@illinois.edu
217-333-1275

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC, School of Integrative Biology

Molecular systematics and phylogeny of extant angiosperms, with emphasis on Apiaceae (Umbelliferae), chloroplast genome structural evolution
Denstrom Enstrom,  David

denstrom@illinois.edu
I-Bldg.
217-244-6872

Affiliate
INHS, Animal Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Avian behavioral ecology with an emphasis on song and plumage; working with AM radio transmitters affixed to birds obtaining more extensive vocal recordings than previously possible; also working on developing a wireless audio array
Bfrancis Francis,  Bettina

bfrancis@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall
217-333-5136

Associate Professor
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Environmental and developmental toxicology
Fuller Fuller,  Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
Megray Gray,  Michael

megray@illinois.edu
S. 320 Turner Hall
217-333-6652

Affiliate
School of Integrative Biology, Entomology

Integrated pest management
No photo Hanks,  Lawrence

hanks@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical ecology and conservation biological control
Akh Hansen,  Allison

akh@illinois.edu
355 Morrill Hall
217-244-3499

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Genomics of insect-microbe interactions; integrated animal-microbe metabolisms; evolutionary genomics; microbiomes
Yhanzawa Hanzawa,  Yoshie

yhanzawa@illinois.edu
259 E R Madigan Laboratory
217-333-4685

Affiliate
Crop Sciences

Plant evolutionary genetics and genomics
Aht Harmon-Threatt,  Alex

aht@illinois.edu
255 Morrill Hall

Assistant Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Pollination Ecology, Conservation and Restoration
No photo Hauber,  Mark

mhauber@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall

Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Animal Biology

Swheads Heads,  Sam

swheads@illinois.edu
217-244-9448

Affiliate
Entomology, School of Integrative Biology

Kheath Heath,  Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Assistant Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Photo Hill,  Steven

srhill50@illinois.edu
382 NRB
217-244-8452

Affiliate
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Systematics of Malvaceae (cotton family), threatened and endangered plants, flora of Dominica
Wrhill Hill,  Walter

wrhill@illinois.edu
133 NRSA
217-244-2103

Affiliate
Plant Biology, NRES

Aquatic ecology, grazer-algal interactions, nutrient cycling, biofilm ecology, invasive fish
Fhu Hu,  Feng Sheng

fhu@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-2982

Professor and Dean of LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology, PEEC

Ecosystem ecology, quaternary paleoecology, climatic change and biotic response, soil and sediment biogeochemistry
Photo Huber,  Steven

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
217-265-0909

Professor
Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

Regulation of carbon and nitrogen metabolism in source and sink tissues with emphases on nitrate reductase, sucrose synthase and protein kinase specificity
Kpjohnso Johnson,  Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
Photo Leakey,  Andrew

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Genomic ecology of plant ecological strategies, genomic responses to climate change, response of maize to elevated carbon dioxide and drought
Levin1 Levin,  Geoffrey

levin1@illinois.edu
1012 Forbes Building
217-244-7481

Affiliate
Plant Biology

Systematics of flowering plants with particular emphasis on the Euphorbiaceae, phylogenetic analysis, floristics of North America and Mexico
Slong Long,  Stephen

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
217-244-0881

Gutgsell Endowed Professor
Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

Environmental physiology, atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation, C4 photosynthesis, energy crops, mathematical models of photosynthesis
Malhi Malhi,  Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities; use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; North America
No photo Marshall-Colon,  Amy

amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
333-2377

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

Amiller7 Miller,  Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
Photo Ming,  Ray

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
217-333-1221

Professor
Plant Biology

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane, coffee and pineapple
Photo Molano-Flores,  Brenda

molano1@illinois.edu

Affiliate
Entomology, Plant Biology

Prairie restoration, plant-insect interactions, reproductive biology of plants, population biology, conservation biology
Jodwyer O'Dwyer,  James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Photo Ort,  Donald

d-ort@life.illinois.edu
1406 IGB
217-333-2093

Professor
Plant Biology

Molecular and biochemical basis for environmental effects on photosynthesis, photosynthetic energy transduction
Photo Paige,  Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology
Caphilli Phillips,  Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Photo Punyasena,  Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Sratclif Ratcliffe,  Susan

sratclif@illinois.edu
S-316 Turner Hall
217-333-9656

Affiliate
Entomology

Integrated pest management
Soucek Riecks-Soucek,  David

soucek@illinois.edu
107 NRS Annx.
217-265-5489

Affiliate
Entomology

Aquatic ecotoxicology
Hughrobe Robertson,  Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson,  Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Photo Schuler,  Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate
Entomology, Plant Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Lsolter Solter,  Leellen

lsolter@illinois.edu
140 NSRC
217-244-5047

Affiliate
Entomology

Insect pathology
Suarez2 Suarez,  Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
681 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Photo Taft,  John

jtaft@illinois.edu
399 NRB
217-244-5046

Affiliate
Plant Biology

Plant ecology and fire effects in oak woodland communities, floristic integrity for Illinois flora, vegetation ecology of grasslands, unique habitats in Illinois
Sjtaylor Taylor,  Steven

sjtaylor@illinois.edu
229 Natural Resources Studies Annex
217-244-1122

Affiliate
INHS, PEEC, Entomology

Cave and karst biology, conservation, and management
Dvoegtli Voegtlin,  David

dvoegtli@illinois.edu
244-2152

Affiliate
Entomology

Biology and taxonomy of aphids, retired
Wahl Wahl,  David

d-wahl@illinois.edu
235 NRSA
217-333-0006

Illinois Natural History Survey; Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences; Affiliate Entomology, PEEC
INHS, PEEC

Application of ecological principles to fisheries management; role of predators in controlling community dynamics; behavioral ecology of fishes; bioenergetic and bioeconomic modeling
Cww Whitfield,  Charles

cww@illinois.edu
349B Morrill Hall
217-244-2889

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Molecular mechanisms and molecular evolution of social behavior, using social insects as a model; natural variation in individual behavior; high throughput genotyping and gene expression analyses
Jwhitfie Whitfield,  James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
Yangw Yang,  Wendy

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
217-244-2614

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Terrestrial biogeochemistry, ecosystem ecology, stable isotope ecology, soil-atmosphere greenhouse gas dynamics, climate change