SIB Directory

Enter name you wish to find; beginning letters are sufficient.

Graduate Students

Achury Morales, Rafael

achurym2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Ant ecology and invasive species (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Allmann Updyke, Erin

eallma2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Vector borne diseases; disease ecology (advisor: Brian Allan)
Anderson, Nicholas

nlndrsn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Insect community responses to conservation and restoration and native bee ecology (advisor: Alexandra Harmon-Threatt)
Antonson, Nicholas

nda4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral ecology, avian brood parasitism, coevolution, and the effect of parental care on brood parasites (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Baena, Nathalie

baena2@illinois.edu
216 NRSA

Graduate Student
Entomology

Systematics of Tridactyloidea (advisor: Sam Heads)
Banan, Darshi

banan2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB
217-333-1632

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Behrens, Colby

colbybb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Examining genetic mechanisms influencing behavior in three-spined stickleback fish (Advisor: Alison Bell)
Bensky, Miles

bensky2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Populations and individual level differences in cognitive performance using threespined stickleback as a model. How individual levels of behavior relate to differences in learning and elucidating the ecological and evolutionary factors driving these differences (advisor: Alison Bell)
Beuchat, Gabriel

beuchat2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(Li-Qing Chen, Advisor)
Burroughs, Charles

cburrou2@illinois.edu
147 ERML
217-244-6110

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth)
Bush, Daniel

dsbush2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Navel orangeworm's relationship with Aspergillus mold (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Capel, Samantha

scapel2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(Advisor: Ken Paige)
Chen, Yaping

ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
217-819-2135

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Feng Sheng Hu)
Choquette, Nicole

choqutt2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth and Lane Rayburn)
Clem, C. Scott

carlc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Interested in tracing native pollinator communities through time using museum specimens and historical data. During master's work at Auburn University, conducted research dealing with community ecology, plant-insect interactions, and insect taxonomy (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Cox, Maria

mlcox3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Paleogenomic analysis of immune change and function, as well as molecular identification of pathogens; particularly, how genes associated with immune function change through time, especially in populations undergoing long term stress (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Curtis, Amanda

amandac3@illinois.edu
W-421 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

(advisor: Eric Larson)
Dai, Qihong

qihongd2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Fish ecology and biology; modeling (advisor: Cory Suski)
Dana, Catherine

cdana2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Cicada conservation and natural history (advisor: Sam Heads)
Darcy, Hannah

hdarcy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(advisor: Phil Anderson)
De Becker, Elsa

elsad2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

de Flamingh, Alida

deflami2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student
PEEC

I use an integrative approach that combines spatial and genetic data through landscape genetics to study African elephant populations throughout southern Africa. My main research focus is conservation genetics, and in studies that employ ancient DNA analysis (advisor: Alfred Roca)
De Moya, Robert

rdemoya2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology, INHS

Examining the coevolution patterns between parasitic bird lice and their hosts (advisor: Kevin Johnson)
Dean, Charles

cedean2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Resolving the developmental physiology and genetics underlying bumble bee color patterns (advisor: Sydney Cameron)
DeLucia, Nicholas

ndeluc2@illinois.edu
193 ERML
217-244-3079

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Carl Bernacchi)
Demkovich, Mark

mdemkov3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Navel Orangeworm Detoxification Systems (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Doucet Beaupré, Alice

doucetb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Computational phylogenetics and the development of novel stochastic phylodynamics models and tools for the study of microbial innovations, diversification, cladogenesis, and ecology (advisor: James O'Dwyer)
Drager, Kim

kdrager2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Nest architecture of soil dwelling ants (both ancient and modern) and how nest structure varies between ant species and geological environments (advisor: Andrew Suarez)
Edwards, Joseph

jedwa9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Perturbations of a forest nitrogen economy and its associated microbial community by invasive Alliaria petiolata (garlic mustard) (advisors: Anthony Yannarell and Wendy Yang)
Egenriether, Sada

egenrie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Microbial nitrogen transformations in agricultural soils (advisors: Angela Kent and Wendy Yang)
Favela, Alonso

favela3@illinois.edu
S-310 Turner Hall

Graduate student
PEEC

Microbial community composition and ecosystem function selected by plant host in the rhizosphere. (advisor: Angela Kent)
Ford, Alexandra

aliford2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Studying development of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis and the fear response of tame and aggressive fox kits through the Fox Domestication Project in Russia (advisor: Anna Kukekova)
Gibson, Joshua

jcgibso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Evolution of trap-jaw mechanism in ants (advisors: Gene Robinson and Andy Suarez)
Giers, Sarah

sgiers2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Evolution and olfaction in Rhagoletis pomonella (advisors: Stewart Berlocher and Hugh Robertson)
Grispo, Michael

mgrispo@gmail.com

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Fitness of organisms from aquatic to terrestrial (fish lenses) (advisor: Chris Cheng)
Halsey, Samniqueka (Sam)

shals3@illinois.edu
W-411 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Research focuses on understanding the ecology of Lyme disease in regards to the black-legged tick and wildlife hosts and how they relate to spread of both the tick and pathogen (advisor: James R. Miller)
Haselhorst, Derek

dhaselh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological role of pollen productivity in tropical forest communities as it relates to long-term variability in climate, community structure, and reproductive output (advisor: Surangi Punyasena)
Heerah, Sachin

heerah2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Hsieh, Edward

emhsieh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

The properties of phytochemicals in honeybee honey and general honeybee behavior (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Hutchinson, Sarah

smhutch2@illinois.edu

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Stephen Long)
Johnson, Todd

tdjohns2@illinois.edu
217-333-7783

Graduate Student
Entomology

Host-location and host-range in forest insects; surveying the parsitoid communities that attack common species of cerambycids in Illinois (advisor: Lawrence Hanks)
Jones, Beryl

bmjones2@illinois.edu
2500 Institute for Genomic Biology
928-595-1866

Graduate Student
PEEC

Social insect behavior and the mechanisms underlying social evolution, specifically the mechanisms by which division of labor has evolved in bees (advisor: Gene Robinson)
Jones, Cody

cpjones2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(advisor: Ken Paige)
Jones, Jennifer

jmjones9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Nutrient concentrations and other environmental characteristics influence wood decay rate and communities of wood decomposing fungi and bacteria (advisors: Katy Heath and James Dalling)
Josek, Tanya

josek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Bioinspiration and ticks (advisor: Marianne Alleyne)
Juma, Elijah

juma2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Understanding the ecology and behaviour of malaria and arboviral mosquitoes (advisor: Juma Muturi)
Kannan, Kavya

kkannan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Krichels, Alexander

krichel2@illinois.edu
217-244-2614

Graduate Student
PEEC

Affects of seasonal ponding on greenhouse gas emissions from upland soils (advisor: Wendy Yang)
Lawson, Shelby

slawson3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral ecology, breeding strategies, mate choice, vocal communication/perception in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Lira Viana, Jessica

liravia2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: James Dalling)
Long, Kira

kira2@illinois.edu
217 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Investigating the supposedly stable hybrid zone of two manakin species in Panama; examining the effects of sexual and natural selection on hybrids and parental species (advisor: Jeff Brawn)
Low, Kelsey

kmlow2@illinois.edu
79 Natural Resources Building

Graduate student
PEEC

Emergence of Ranavirus in endangered populations of amphibians and reptile (advisors: Chris Phillips and Matthew Allender)
Luro, Alec

alecl2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral & cognitive ecology, evolution, avian brood parasitism and species recognition in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Mayfield-Jones, Dustin

dustinm2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
McDaniel, Lauren

lkm4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavior, sexual selection, and speciation in killifish (advisor Becky Fuller)
McLean, Shay Akil

samclea2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Evolutionary anthropological genetics (advisor: Charles Roseman)
Montag, William

montag2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Conservation of soil and litter dwelling insects, especially beetles (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Montes, Christopher M

cmontes3@illinois.edu
147 ERML

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Examining Soybean (Glycine max (L.) Merr.] and Maize (Zea mays L.) physiological responses to elevated ozone concentrations and genetically mapping ozone response (advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth))
Moran, Rachel

rmoran9@illinois.edu
202 Shelford Vivarium

Graduate Student
PEEC

Reinforcement, sexual selection and speciation in darters (advisor: Becky Fuller)
Morris, Brendan

bomorri2@illinois.edu
217-244-9578

Graduate Student
Entomology

Historical biogeography and systematics of Carribean treehoppers (Hemiptera: Membracidae) (advisor: Christopher Dietrich)
Napier, Joseph

jnapier2@illinois.edu
217-244-9871

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Feng Sheng Hu)
Newman, Evan

evanan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Distribution patterns of Plecoptera (Stoneflies) of the midwest (advisor: Ed DeWalt)
Nguyen, Julie

jknguyn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Nishikawa, Elise

nishika2@illinois.edu
S-217 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Understanding how and why neotropical resident birds respond to environmental variation and climate change (advisor: Jeffrey Brawn)
Njoroge, Teresia

tnjorog2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Role of insects P450s in insecticides resistance (advisors: May Berenbaum and Mary Schuler)
Owings, Amanda

aowings2@illinois.edu
73 Medical Sciences Building
217-244-2253

Graduate Student
PEEC

Migration routes of Native American people using population genetics (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Parker, Allison

aparker9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Effects of competition in the larval environment on the capacity of adult mosquitoes to vector diseases (advisors: Brian Allan and Juma Muturi)
Paul, Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Paul, Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture (advisor: Evan DeLucia)
Pearlstein, Daniel

djp@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Chemical ecology of eusocial insects, especially honeybees (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Pelech, Elena

pelech@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Carl Bernacchi)
Perez, Sierra

sierrap2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Plant-soil feedbacks in montane neotropical forests (advisor: James Dalling)
Perrin-Stowe, Tolulope

tperri2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student
PEEC

African Elephant mitogenomes and phylogeography (advisor: Al Roca)
Prada Cordero, Cecilia

cprada@illinois.edu
149 Morrill Hall
(217) 244-8914

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: James Dalling)
Price, Gabriel

gjprice2@illinois.edu
W-316 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Implications of plant-soil feedback on community composition and how species invasion can shape these interactions (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Quebedeaux, Jennifer

quebede2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB
(217) 333-1632

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Raudabaugh, Daniel

raudaba2@illinois.edu
570-651-0312

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Miller)
Rayamajhi, Niraj

nirajr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Population genomics of natural populations and computational biology (advisor: Julian Catchen)
Reiter, Kristen

reiter5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Functions of micro- and nanoscale structures of insects and the application of these functions (advisor: M. Alleyne)
Ricks, Kevin

ricks3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Microbial community and evolutionary ecology, evolution of symbiosis (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Riley, Alex

abriley2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Rios Acosta, Lorena

lrios@illinois.edu

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Rivera, Michael

mdriver3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological and evolutionary drivers of morphological variation in social insect workers (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Rivera-Colón, Angel

angelgr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Genomics, genome evolution (advisor: Julian Catchen)
Romero Valero, Ingrid

romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1186

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Surangi Punyasena)
Ruzi, Selina

ruzi2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Invasion ecology and plant-insect interactions. Determining if non-myrmecochorous plants engage in ant-mediated seed dispersal and what chemical cues promote this seed-ant dispersal interaction (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Scharf, Hannah

hscharf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral ecology, social and mating systems, avian brood parasitism (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Schwing, Cameron

cschwin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Effects of manipulating larval mosquito habitat on development and fitness (advisor: Carla Cáceres)
Scott, Bradley

brscott2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Early evolution of vertebrates, specifically the changes in feeding and locomotion associated with the transition from jawless to jawed vertebrates. I seek to understand these changes using paleontology, functional morphology, and biomechanics (advisor: Phil Anderson)
Seyfried, Georgia

gss3@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Wendy Yang)
Shrivastava, Stuti

shrvstv3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Skinner, Rachel

rskinn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Taxonomy, phylogenetics, and biogeography of treehoppers in Membracidae (advisor: Chris Dietrich)
Solorzano-Lowell, Kathryn

slrznlw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

(advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
South, Eric

ejsouth@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Stonefly taxonomy and systematics (advisor: Ed DeWalt)
Stewart, Tara

tarastew@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological immunology of Daphnia dentifera (advisor: Carla Cáceres)
Strailey, Katherine

ks26@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecology, physiology, and conservation of freshwater fishes (advisors: Cory Suski and Piotr Cienciala)
Strickland, Lynette

lrstric2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Genetic and developmental mechanisms of color variation in Cassidine beetles, it's ecological significance and how color polymorphisms are maintained in populations (advisor: Carla Caceres)
Stuart, Sarai

saraihs2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Evolution of social life and mechanisms that underpin behaviors in the colony environment (advisor: Gene Robinson)
Sutton, Nicholas

nmsutto2@illinois.edu

Graduate student
PEEC

Modeling decision-making processes during predator-prey encounters, with a focus on optimal escape strategies in ungulates (advisor: James O'Dwyer)
Swanson, Daniel

drswans2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Systematics of assassin bugs (advisors: Steven J. Taylor and Sam W. Heads)
Tetlie, Jonathan

jtetlie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

The lingering impact of agricultural practices on habitat restoration efforts of prairies and their effect on native bee communities (advisor: Alexandra Harmon-Threatt)
Thomas, M. Jared

thomasmj@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Paleoentomology with emphasis on Tetrigidae (pygmy grasshoppers) (advisor: Sam Heads)
Torres, Jacob

jacobdt3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Native bee ecology, urban ecology, bee/pollinator health, and insect microbiomes (advisor: Adam Dolezal)
Virrueta Herrera, Stephany

svirru2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ornithology and phylogentics, specifically the evolutionary patterns between birds and their parasitic feather lice (advisor: Kevin Johnson).
Wedow, Jessica

wedow2@illinois.edu
147 ERML
(217) 265-9887

Grad Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth)
White, Dalon

dpwhite4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

The intersection and application of physiology and ecology to climate change within aquatic ecosystems (advisor: David Wahl)
Wilson, Loralee

ljwilso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(advisor: Chris Cheng)
Wolz, Kevin

wolz1@illinois.edu
1500 IGB

Graduate Student
PEEC

Biogeochemical consequences of an agricultural transition from row-crops to agroforestry (advisor: Evan DeLucia)
Wszalek, Andrew

wszalek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(advisor: Ken Paige)
Xin, Yinghui

xin7@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Yoon, Veronica

eyoon8@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Evolutionary biology and physiology of the most derived species of Antarctic fishes (Notothenioidei: Channichthyidae) through the analysis of genetic data (advisor: Chris Cheng)
Yu, Li'Ang

liangy2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree

dpz2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Zhang, Chen

chenz6@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Zhang, Xiaodan

xiaodan5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Zhu, Fan

fanzhu2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)