Faculty by Research Area

Genetics & Biochemistry

Ainsworth head shot Ainsworth, Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML
217-265-9887

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Photo Bell, Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Maybe Berenbaum, May

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784

Professor & Head, Swanlund Chair
Entomology, PEEC

Chemical interactions between insects and host plants and their implications in the organization of natural communities
Dbriskin Briskin, Donald

dbriskin@illinois.edu
380 NSRC
217-244-1115

Affiliate
Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology, Plant Biology

Plant products, medicinal plants, environmental effects on plant natural product chemistry
J cheese Cheeseman, John M.

j-cheese@illinois.edu
196 ERML
217-300-9323

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Control and integration of resource acquisition and allocation in plants, organismal physiology, photosynthesis, nutrient transport; mathematical modeling
C cheng Cheng, C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolutionary genomic, transcriptomic, and physiological changes in cold adaptation and specialization in Antarctic and Arctic fishes. Molecular evolution of antifreeze proteins and other cold-adaptive genes and functions. Marine biodiversity in Polar regions. Field research in Antarctica and the Arctic
No photo Epifanio, John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Conservation biology, molecular ecology, and fish biology
Fuller Fuller, Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
217-333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
Gov Govindjee

gov@illinois.edu
217-333-1794

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

History of photosynthesis
Huber portrait 2017 Huber, Steven Carl

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
217-265-0909

Professor
Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

Identification of biological mechanisms that regulate important plant processes and impact growth and development
Leakey andrew171020 03 Leakey, Andrew D.B.

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor and University Scholar
Plant Biology, PEEC

Integrative plant physiology, genetics and genomics; plant water use efficiency, photosynthesis and carbon metabolism; crop responses to elevated CO2, drought, temperature and ozone; crop sustainability and responses to global environmental change
Malhi Malhi, Ripan

malhi@illinois.edu
209F Davenport Hall
217-265-0721

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Integrates population genetics, phylogenetics, ancient DNA analysis, and field research in collaboration with Native American communities; use of tools from molecular biology and population genetics; North America
Photo Ming, Ray

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
217-333-1221

Professor
Plant Biology

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane, coffee and pineapple
Photo Ort, Donald

d-ort@illinois.edu
1406 IGB
217-333-2093

Professor
Plant Biology

Molecular and biochemical basis for environmental effects on photosynthesis, photosynthetic energy transduction
Ken Paige, Ken N.

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-244-6606

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Our lab focuses on several areas of research including 1) the ecology and evolutionary biology of species interactions with an emphasis on overcompensation (enhanced fitness following herbivory), 2) the role of somatic mutation and endoreduplication (replication of the genome without mitotic cell division) in allowing an individual plant to evolve and adjust to environmental challenges, 3) conservation genetics, focusing on the ecological and evolutionary consequences of small population size, and 4) phylogeographic analyses with a focus on understanding how organisms have responded to anthropogenic, geologic and climatic history.
Philipp Philipp, David

philipp@illinois.edu
237 NRSA
217-369-2952

Research Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Fish genetics and evolution; identification, characterization and conservation of fish stocks; evolution of structural and regulatory genes; behavioral genetics of fishes
Jrhodes Rhodes, Justin

jrhodes@illinois.edu
3315 Beckman Institute
217-265-0021

Associate Professor
PEEC

Neuroendocrinology of socially influenced sex change in anemonefish
Hughrobe Robertson, Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
417 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson, Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Photo Schuler, Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate, Professor
Entomology, Plant Biology, Molecular and Cellular Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Seigler Seigler, David

daveseig@illinois.edu
217-333-7577

Professor Emeritus & Curator of Herbarium
Plant Biology

Phytochemistry, chemical ecology, plant systematics, secondary products as mosquito insecticides, antioxidants from berries, systematics of Acacia species
Rwhitakr Whitaker, Rachel

rwhitakr@illinois.edu
C222 Chemical and Life Sciences Laboratory
217-244-8420

Associate Professor
Molecular and Cellular Biology, PEEC

Microbial evolutionary ecology; population genomics; biogeography; horizontal gene transfer; effects of disturbance on microbial populations; Archaea
Cww Whitfield, Charles

cww@illinois.edu
422 Morrill Hall
217-244-2889

Associate Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Molecular mechanisms and molecular evolution of social behavior, using social insects as a model; natural variation in individual behavior; high throughput genotyping and gene expression analyses
Photo Zielinski, Raymond

rez@illinois.edu
192 ERML
217-333-6785

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Calmodulin, calcium-binding proteins, signal transduction, regulation of gene expression

Back to Faculty Search