Faculty by Research Area

Physiology & Development

Ainswort Ainsworth,  Elizabeth

ainswort@illinois.edu
147 ERML/1408 IGB
217-265-9887

Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Plant physiological and molecular responses to global change, leaf growth and development, photosynthesis and carbohydrate metabolism
Ambrose Ambrose,  Stanley

ambrose@illinois.edu
217-244-3504

Professor
PEEC

Archeology of modern human origins in Africa; genetic paleodemography; stable isotope ecology and paleoecology; dietary reconstruction; African ecology
Photo Bell,  Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Bernacch Bernacchi,  Carl

bernacch@illinois.edu

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, School of Integrative Biology

Impacts of climate change on crop physiology, energy fluxes between the atmosphere and plant canopies, carbon sequestration, crop canopy responses to stress
Photo Cameron,  Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
J cheese Cheeseman,  John M.

j-cheese@illinois.edu
196 ERML
217-300-9323

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Control and integration of resource acquisition and allocation in plants, organismal physiology, photosynthesis, nutrient transport; mathematical modeling
C cheng Cheng,  C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Molecular evolution of fish antifreeze protein genes, particularly evolutionary origins and molecular mechanisms of new gene genesis; temporal relationship between evolution of antifreeze function and paleobiogeography of polar regions
Clancy Clancy,  Kathryn

kclancy@illinois.edu
109 Davenport Hall
217-244-1509

Associate Professor
PEEC, Animal Biology

Human reproductive ecologist who specializes in women's health, endometrial function and evolutionary medicine. Dr. Clancy's work challenges assumptions about what constitutes normal reproductive physiology, and clinical threshold hypotheses regarding health.
Photo Crang,  Richard

r-crang@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-0616

Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Microscopic analysis of plants and fungi under environmental stress
Jdawson2 Dawson,  Jeffrey

jdawson2@illinois.edu
1316 PSL
217-333-9281

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology, PEEC

Symbiotic nitrogen fixation by woody plants, forest ecophysiology, soil microbiology, plant nitrogen nutrition, silviculture, forest ecology, urban forestry
Photo Delcomyn,  Fred

delcomyn@illinois.edu
422A Morrill Hall
217-333-8793

Professor Emeritus; Director Emeritus SIB
Entomology

Physiological basis of insect behavior
Delucia DeLucia,  Evan H.

delucia@illinois.edu

G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director, Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
Plant Biology, PEEC

Physiological ecology of vascular plants, photosynthesis, plant architecture, stress, climate change
Fuller Fuller,  Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
Gov Govindjee,  

gov@illinois.edu
265 Morrill Hall
217-333-1794

Professor Emeritus
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

History of photosynthesis
Photo Huber,  Steven

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
217-265-0909

Professor
Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

Regulation of carbon and nitrogen metabolism in source and sink tissues with emphases on nitrate reductase, sucrose synthase and protein kinase specificity
Photo Leakey,  Andrew

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
217-244-0302

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Genomic ecology of plant ecological strategies, genomic responses to climate change, response of maize to elevated carbon dioxide and drought
Slong Long,  Stephen

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
217-244-0881

Gutgsell Endowed Professor
Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

Environmental physiology, atmospheric change impacts on crops and natural vegetation, C4 photosynthesis, energy crops, mathematical models of photosynthesis
Photo Ort,  Donald

d-ort@life.illinois.edu
1406 IGB
217-333-2093

Professor
Plant Biology

Molecular and biochemical basis for environmental effects on photosynthesis, photosynthetic energy transduction
Hughrobe Robertson,  Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
320 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson,  Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Photo Schuler,  Mary

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
217-333-8785

Affiliate
Entomology, Plant Biology

Pre-mRNA processing, P450 monooxygenases and their role in plant-insect interactions
Photo Zielinski,  Raymond

rez@illinois.edu
192 ERML
217-333-6785

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Calmodulin, calcium-binding proteins, signal transduction, regulation of gene expression

Back to Faculty Search