Faculty by Research Area

Evolution & Systematics

Ambrose Ambrose, Stanley

ambrose@illinois.edu
217-244-3504

Professor
PEEC

Archeology of modern human origins in Africa; genetic paleodemography; stable isotope ecology and paleoecology; dietary reconstruction; African ecology
Photo Bell, Alison

alisonmb@illinois.edu
439 Morrill Hall
217-265-5469

Associate Professor; Affiliate, Institute for Genomic Biology; Member, Neuroscience Program
Animal Biology, PEEC

Proximate causes and ultimate consequences of individual differences in behavior
Photo Berlocher, Stewart

stewartb@illinois.edu
304A Morrill Hall
217-333-2929

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Systematics, speciation, insect-plant coevolution
Photo Beshers, Samuel

beshers@illinois.edu
318B Morrill Hall
217-244-0420

Neuroscience Program Coordinator
School of Integrative Biology, Entomology

Organization and behavior of ant colonies
Jbrawn Brawn, Jeffrey

jbrawn@illinois.edu
W-503 Turner Hall
217-244-5937

Professor and Head, NRES
Animal Biology, PEEC

Conservation biology; comparative population and community ecology of vertebrates, especially birds; tropical ecology; statistical ecology; molecular evolutionary ecology
Photo Cameron, Sydney

sacamero@illinois.edu
215B Morrill Hall
217-333-2340

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Application of phylogenetics, behavior and development to address questions concerning the evolution of social behavior in bees; conservation status and causal factors in declining pollinators; evolution of color pattern mimicry in bees
C cheng Cheng, C.-H. Christina

c-cheng@illinois.edu
17E Burrill Hall
217-333-2832

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Evolutionary genomic, transcriptomic, and physiological changes in cold adaptation and specialization in Antarctic and Arctic fishes. Molecular evolution of antifreeze proteins and other cold-adaptive genes and functions. Marine biodiversity in Polar regions. Field research in Antarctica and the Arctic
Photo Dalling, James

dalling@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
217-244-8914

Professor and Head
Plant Biology, PEEC

Tropical forest dynamics, plant-soil and plant-fungal interactions, seed ecology
Dietrich Dietrich, Christopher

chdietri@illinois.edu
282 Natural Resources Building
217-244-7408

Affiliate, Associate Center Director, Systematic Entomologist
Entomology, PEEC, INHS

Systematics, morphology, and evolutionary biology of leafhoppers and treehoppers; biodiversity and conservation of grassland ecosystems
Downie Downie, Stephen R.

sdownie@illinois.edu
239 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1275

Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs
Plant Biology, PEEC

Systematics and evolution of flowering plants, with emphasis on the family Apiaceae; chloroplast genome structural evolution
No photo Epifanio, John

epifanio@illinois.edu
217-244-5059

Affiliate
INHS, NRES, PEEC

Conservation biology, molecular ecology, and fish biology
Fuller Fuller, Becky

rcfuller@illinois.edu
104 Shelford Vivarium
217-333-9065

Associate Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Speciation, animal behavior and its underlying neurological mechanisms; sexual selection and the evolution of mating systems; phenotypic plasticity
Kheath Heath, Katy

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
217-265-5473

Associate Professor
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology, PEEC

Mutualism coevolution: evolutionary and ecological genetics of plant-microbe interactions; evolutionary responses to global change
Kpjohnso Johnson, Kevin

kpjohnso@illinois.edu
284 Natural Resources Building, 607 E. Peabody Dr., Champaign, IL 61820
217-244-9267

Affiliate, Principal Ornithologist
Animal Biology, Entomology, INHS, PEEC

Molecular systematics, host-parasite co-evolution, comparative approaches to studying the evolution of behavior in birds, co-speciation between birds and parasitic lice, population genetics of island biogeography
Amiller7 Miller, Andrew

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab

Affiliate
Plant Biology, PEEC

Character evolution of ascomycetes with emphasis on members of the Class Sordariomycetes, biodiversity and biogeography of ascomycetes
Photo Ming, Ray

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
217-333-1221

Professor
Plant Biology

Evolution of primitive sex chromosomes, genome structure of papaya, sugarcane, coffee and pineapple
Jodwyer O'Dwyer, James

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
217-244-7806

Assistant Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

We work with theoretical models and a broad range of data to understand patterns of biodiversity, from tropical forests to host-associated microbial systems like the human microbiome
Photo Paige, Ken

k-paige@illinois.edu
483 Morrill Hall
217-333-7802

Professor
Animal Biology, PEEC

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on understanding the phenomenon of overcompensation from ecological, physiological, genetic and evolutionary perspectives; conservation biology; evolutionary ecology
Caphilli Phillips, Christopher

caphilli@illinois.edu
185 NRB
217-244-7077

Adjunct Assistant Professor/Affiliate
Animal Biology, PEEC

Population genetics, population ecology, and systematics, especially as applied to amphibians, reptiles, and fishes; phylogeny estimation using molecular markers; conservation genetics
Photo Phillips, Tom

tlphilli@life.illinois.edu
57 Morrill Hall
217-333-0653

Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Paleobotany with an emphasis on flora of the Carboniferous period
Photo Punyasena, Surangi

spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
217-244-8049

Associate Professor
Plant Biology, PEEC

Role of climate in long-term evolution of Neotropical forests; quantitative palynology
Jrhodes Rhodes, Justin

jrhodes@illinois.edu
3315 Beckman Institute
217-265-0021

Associate Professor
PEEC

Neuroendocrinology of socially influenced sex change in anemonefish
Hughrobe Robertson, Hugh

hughrobe@illinois.edu
417 Morrill Hall
217-333-0489

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

The molecular basis for insect olfaction and taste; insect and arthropod genomics
Generobi Robinson, Gene

generobi@illinois.edu
1608 IGB / 449 Morrill Hall
217-265-0309

Swanlund Chair and Director, Institute for Genomic Biology;
Entomology, PEEC

insect social behavior and genomics
Photo Sargent, Malcolm

malcolms@illinois.edu
217-333-0287

Associate Professor Emeritus
Plant Biology

Creation of user friendly, perspective oriented guides for the identification of bryophytes (mosses, liverworts and hornworts)
Carolshe Shearer, Carol

carolshe@illinois.edu
655B Morrill Hall
217-333-2796

Professor Emerita
Plant Biology

Ecology of freshwater saprophytic fungal communities, systematics and biogeography of freshwater ascomycetes and fungi imperfecti
Suarez2 Suarez, Andrew

suarez2@illinois.edu
515 Morrill Hall
217-244-6631

I. C. Gunsalus Scholar, Professor and Head of Animal Biology
Animal Biology, Entomology, PEEC

Ant ecology and behavior; biological invasions
Warnow Warnow, Tandy

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
217-300-3087

Affiliate, Professor
Entomology, Animal Biology, PEEC

Phylogenomics, multiple sequence alignment, and metagenomics
Jwhitfie Whitfield, James

jwhitfie@illinois.edu
215 Morrill Hall
217-333-2567

Professor
Entomology, PEEC

Ecology and phylogeny of parasitoid wasps
Gswhitt Whitt, Gregory

gswhitt@illinois.edu
469 Morrill Hall
217-333-4645

Professor Emeritus
Animal Biology

Evolutionary genetics & phylogenetic relationships of fishes. Isozymes & other molecular characters used to investigate evolutionary relationships & to infer patterns of gene structural & regulatory evolution. Biochemical genetics & evolution of teleosts

Back to Faculty Search