SIB Events


Tuesday, January 22, 2019

12:00 pm

Exploring and Expanding the Benefit of Beneficial Microbes

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Colleen Bianco/Vanderpool Lab and Danielle Campbell/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: The plant danger zone: Assessing different strategies to deal with abiotic factors

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Rewriting the Story: Understanding Implicit Bias

 

Thursday, January 24, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Tamara O'Connor, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine -- "Combinatorial selection drives the evolution of a human pathogen"

 

Friday, January 25, 2019

2:00 pm

Microbiology Thesis Defense: Ik-Jung Kim/Blanke Lab

 

Monday, January 28, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Esther Ngumbi, Entomology Postdoc, UIUC - "Volatile organic compounds as multitrophic messages among plants, microbes, and insects"

 

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

12:00 pm

Transcriptional Regulation of Nitrogen Metabolism

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Samantha DeWerff/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Nucleo-cytoplasmic partitioning of ARF transcription factors driven by protein phase transitions

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Differentiating plant genetic from environmental drivers of plant microbiome structure and function

 

Thursday, January 31, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Jeffrey Bose, University of Kansas Medical Center -- "The contribution of YjbIH to Staphylococcus aureus virulence factor production"

 

Monday, February 04, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Mariana Mateos, Texas A&M - "Symbiont-mediated defense against parasitoids in Drosophila"

 

Tuesday, February 05, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Henry Chen/Blanke Lab and Marinos Kalafatis/Slauch Lab

 

Wednesday, February 06, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Rhizosphere ecology and the roots of sustainability

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Evolutionary dynamics of infectious diseases in ectothermic vertebrates

 

Thursday, February 07, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Ryan Langlois, University of Iowa -- "Early antiviral responses to influenza A virus replication"

 

Monday, February 11, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Simon Garnier, New Jersey Institute of Technology - "We the Swarm - Lessons in problem-solving from tiny brains and neuron-less creatures"

 

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

12:00 pm

Cis-regulatory code discovery: looking inside a black box

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Alexander Palmer/Slauch Lab and Elizabeth Rowland/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Lousy & wormy tales: Drivers of population genetic divergence in host-parasite co-evolution

 

Thursday, February 14, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Nathan Sherer, University of Wisconsin -- "HIV-1 RNA Trafficking - Lessons from the Mouse"

 

Monday, February 18, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Colin Dale, University of Utah - "Replaying the tape of symbiosis in lice: The role of Nuo in the Matrix"

 

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

12:00 pm

Profiling Cells Inside and Out with Nanostructured Materials

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Shafiul Azam/Vanderpool Lab and Ananya Sen/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Response and adaptation of soybean to climate warming: the role of photoperiod-sensitive loci

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Extinction and the Value of Diversity

 

Thursday, February 21, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Matthew Lawrenz, University of Louisville -- "TBA"

 

Monday, February 25, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Jeff Feder, University of Notre Dame - "On the scent of speciation: Evidence suggesting a neurological switch in fruit volatile processing involving the antennal lobes of the apple and hawthorn host races of Rhagoletis pomonella"

 

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

12:00 pm

IGB Seminar - GNDP

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Jesse Grenz/Slauch Lab and Alex Phillips/Whitaker Lab

 

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: The perplexing drought response of Eastern oaks, in the context of their ongoing decline

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Conservation Genomics of Endangered Species

 

Thursday, February 28, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Dhruba Chattoraj, National Cancer Institute -- "Random vs. Cell Cycle-Regulated Replication Initiation in Bacteria: Insights from Studying Vibrio cholerae Chromosome 2"

 

Monday, March 04, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Diana Cox-Foster, USDA, Logan, Utah

 

Tuesday, March 05, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Ted Kim/Whitaker Lab and Yidan Zhou/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Genetic Control of Guard Cell Movement via the CO2 Stomatal Signaling Pathway in Zea Mays

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Comparative metatranscriptomes reveal the adaptive potential of coral holobionts under thermal stress

 

Thursday, March 07, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Catherine Brissette, University of North Dakota -- "TBA"

 

Monday, March 11, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Holly Gaff, Old Dominion University, VA - "Mapping the range expansion of ticks: modeling and surveillance"

 

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Maryam Khademian/Imlay Lab and Pritha Rao/Kuzminov Lab

 

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Incorporating Phytophthora and Soybean Aphid Resistance into Edamame Varieties

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Neurogenomics of host responses to brood parasitism in wasps

 

Thursday, March 14, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. David Evans, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine -- "TBA"

 

Saturday, March 16, 2019

1:00 pm

Spring Vacation Begins

 

Monday, March 25, 2019

Instruction resumes

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. David Denlinger, Ohio State University - "How to survive in Antarctica: Lessons from an insect"

 

Tuesday, March 26, 2019

2:00 pm

Microbiology Early Career Researcher Seminar: Dr. Sampriti Mukherjee, Princeton University -- "TBA"

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Kristen Farley/Metcalf Lab and Paola Parraga Solorzano/Kehl-Fie Lab

 

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: How fungi helped the Earth get green

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Evolutionary consequences of reproductive and aggressive interactions between species

 

Thursday, March 28, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Craig Cameron, Penn State University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 01, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. John Tooker, Pennsylvania State University

 

Tuesday, April 02, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Meghan Diefenbacher/Brooke Lab and Zachary Schaefer/Blanke Lab

 

Wednesday, April 03, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: High-throughput Phenomics for Early Detection of Abiotic and Biotic Stress

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Experimental insights into the unique biology of queen bumble bees

 

Thursday, April 04, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Amy Schmid, Duke University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 08, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Courtney Murdock, University of Georgia

 

Tuesday, April 09, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Pooja Agashe/Kuzminov Lab and Katie Frye/Kehl-Fie Lab

 

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Tissue Culture and Genome Editing in the Illinois Long Term Selection Experiment

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Manipulating early gut microbiome acquisition in dairy calves to improve milk production efficiency

 

Thursday, April 11, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Francis Alonzo, Loyola University -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 15, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Mark Demkovich, Entomology Grad Student Exit Seminar

 

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Rouhallah Ramezanifard/Slauch Lab and Ami Seeger/Blanke Lab

 

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Multiscale modeling and proteomic approaches to analyze protein complex functions during plant development

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Paleogenomics in South Asia: reconstructing the evolutionary histories of humans, their domesticates, and diseases

 

Thursday, April 18, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Seminar: Dr. Sebastian Winter, UT Southwestern -- "Metabolism of the Gut Microbiota during Health and Disease"

 

Monday, April 22, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Dr. Clare Rittschof, University of Kentucky

 

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Student Seminar: Anshika Gupta/Imlay Lab and Stefanie Eben/Imlay Lab

 

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Genetics of seedling stage low temperature tolerance of rice

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Effects of climate change on bird communication

 

Thursday, April 25, 2019

4:00 pm

Gottlieb Memorial Lecuture Series: Dr. Paul R. Jensen, Scripps Institution of Oceanography -- "TBA"

 

Monday, April 29, 2019

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Entomology Colloquium: Nathalie Baena Bejarano, Entomology Grad Student Exit Seminar

 

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

4:00 pm

Microbiology Postdoc Seminar: Jacqui Morey/Kehl-Fie Lab and Fadi Alnaji/Brooke Lab

 

Wednesday, May 01, 2019

Instruction Ends

12:00 pm - 12:50 pm

PMPB Seminar: Title TBA

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

PEEC Seminar - Exploring behavioral flexibility in stickleback

 

Thursday, May 02, 2019

Reading Day/IT No Change Period in effect

 

Friday, May 03, 2019

Final Exams Begin

 

Saturday, May 11, 2019

Commencement

 

Monday, May 13, 2019

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 1

 

Monday, June 10, 2019

First Day of Instruction, Summer Term 2