Department of
Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior Students and Postdocs

Students

portrait of Antonson, Nicholas Antonson, Nicholas

nda4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, avian brood parasitism, coevolution, and the effect of parental care on brood parasites

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Behrens, Colby Behrens, Colby

colbybb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Examining genetic mechanisms influencing behavior in three-spined stickleback fish

Advisor: Alison Bell
portrait of Capel, Samantha Capel, Samantha

scapel2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior


Advisor: Ken N. Paige
portrait of Chabain, Jules Chabain, Jules

chabain2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Former paleontologist puzzled by animal weaponery and the linkage between shape, function and performance; using biomechanics, ct-scanned data, and comparative anatomy

Advisor: Philip S L Anderson
portrait of Darcy, Hannah Darcy, Hannah

hdarcy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Morphology of the salamander skull, comparative biomechanics of feePding in land-to-water transitions, and biological material properties

Advisor: Philip S L Anderson
portrait of Drager, Kim Drager, Kim

kdrager2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Nest architecture of soil dwelling ants (both ancient and modern) and how nest structure varies between ant species and geological environments

Advisor: Andrew V. Suarez
portrait of Jones, Cody Jones, Cody

cpjones2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Looking at the interplay between overcompensation and endoreduplication, specifically in the model system, soybean

Advisor: Ken N. Paige
portrait of Laserna Cowal, Alessa Laserna Cowal, Alessa

laserna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Wildlife responses to anthropogenic changes, animal behavior, wildlife conservation

Advisor: Ken N. Paige
portrait of Lawson, Shelby Lawson, Shelby

slawson3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, breeding strategies, mate choice, vocal communication/perception in birds

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Luro, Alec Luro, Alec

alecl2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral & cognitive ecology, evolution, avian brood parasitism and species recognition in birds

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Maciejewski, Meghan Maciejewski, Meghan

mfm8@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, parental care, social evolution

Advisor: Alison Bell
portrait of Rayamajhi, Niraj Rayamajhi, Niraj

nirajr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Population genomics of natural populations and computational biology

Advisor: Julian Catchen
portrait of Rivera-Colón, Angel Rivera-Colón, Angel

angelgr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Genomics, genome evolution

Advisor: Julian Catchen
portrait of Scharf, Hannah Scharf, Hannah

hscharf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, social and mating systems, avian brood parasitism

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Schwing, Cameron Schwing, Cameron

cschwin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Effects of manipulating larval mosquito habitat on development and fitness

Advisor: Carla Cáceres
portrait of Scott, Bradley Scott, Bradley

brscott2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Early evolution of vertebrates, specifically the changes in feeding and locomotion associated with the transition from jawless to jawed vertebrates. I seek to understand these changes using paleontology, functional morphology, and biomechanics

Advisor: Philip S L Anderson
portrait of Surber, Lisa Surber, Lisa

lsurber2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Behavioral ecology, evolution, and phenotypic plasticity in Neotropical poison frogs

Advisor: Eva K. Fischer
portrait of Turner, Abbi Turner, Abbi

aturner5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Evolution, mate choice, parental care, brood parasitism, and birds

Advisor: Mark E Hauber
portrait of Wilson, Patrick Wilson, Patrick

pwilson5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Disease ecology and host-parasite coevolution in Daphnia

Advisor: Carla Cáceres
portrait of Wszalek, Andrew Wszalek, Andrew

wszalek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior
Physical and chemical compensatory responses of soybeans following damage

Advisor: Ken N. Paige

Postdoctoral Researchers

portrait of Bukhari, Syed Abbas Bukhari, Syed Abbas
Postdoc Research Associate - EEB
sbukhar@illinois.edu
MC-122

Lab site
portrait of Enos, Janice Enos, Janice K.
Postdoc Research Associate
jkkelly2@illinois.edu
MC-122

Lab site
portrait of Pollock, Henry Pollock, Henry
Postdoc Research Associate
hpollock@illinois.edu

Lab site
portrait of Westrick, Sarah Westrick, Sarah
Postdoc Research Associate
westse@illinois.edu
MC-122

Lab site