Department of
Entomology

Entomology Students

portrait of Arceneaux, Miles Arceneaux, Miles

milesja2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Ecological and behavioral plant-insect interactions of pest species and how to combat against the damage they cause

Advisor: Esther Ngumbi
portrait of Barley, Tristan Barley, Tristan

tbarley2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Behavioral effects of competition between native bees and honeybees

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Basnet, Vinisha Basnet, Vinisha

vbasnet2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology


Advisor: Daniel Schneider
portrait of Bello, Lizzie Bello, Lizzie

ebello2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Bioinspired design and materials

Advisor: Marianne Alleyne
portrait of Bush, Daniel Bush, Daniel

dsbush2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Navel orangeworm's relationship with Aspergillus mold

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Chiavini, Benjamin Chiavini, Benjamin

bec2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Study of small hive beetles in their life cycle, physiology, and behaviors in relation to honey bees and viruses/diseases

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Cimo-Dean, Erica Cimo-Dean, Erica

ejherna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Ecology and management of ticks and of tick-borne diseases in residential and recreational areas near natural spaces

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Clem, C. Scott Clem, C. Scott

carlc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Hover fly (Diptera: Syrphidae) migratory ecology and behavior

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Coburn, Kat Coburn, Kat

kcoburn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Prairie restoration/conservation strategies and their effects on habitat quality and native pollinator community ecology

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Dana, Catherine Dana, Catherine

cdana2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Cicada conservation and natural history

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Dean, Charles Dean, Charles

cedean2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Ecological and genomic basis of plant-insect interactions, specifically within webworm (Depressaria spp.) and Apiaceous plant coevolutionary systems

Advisor: May Berenbaum
portrait of Fauziyah, Siti Fauziyah, Siti

siti2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Biomechanics of insect wings

Advisor: Marianne Alleyne
portrait of Flenniken, Matt Flenniken, Matt

jeffryf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Effects of environmental change on vector ecology

Advisor: Brian Allan
portrait of Grommes-Yeager, Anna Grommes-Yeager, Anna

grommes2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Chemical ecology of beetles in the families Cerambycidae and Elateridae

Advisor: Lawrence Hanks
portrait of Hearon, Luke Hearon, Luke

lhearon2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Predator-prey dynamics in mosquito communities

Advisor: Carla Cáceres
portrait of Hogan, Phillip Hogan, Phillip

pnhogan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Identification of distribution patterns for both the historic and contemporaneous Midwest stonefly fauna using distributional modeling techniques

Advisor: Ed DeWalt
portrait of Hsieh, Edward Hsieh, Edward

emhsieh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The properties of phytochemicals in honeybee honey and general honeybee behavior

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Mleziva, Aaron Mleziva, Aaron

mleziva2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Plant-insect chemical interaction

Advisor: Esther Ngumbi
portrait of Murphree, Maggie Murphree, Maggie

sarahmm5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Emergent behavior, division of labor, and social networks of honey bee colonies

Advisor: Gene Robinson
portrait of Newman, Evan Newman, Evan

evanan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Distribution patterns of Plecoptera (Stoneflies) of the midwest

Advisor: Ed DeWalt
portrait of Noel, Kylee Noel, Kylee

krnoel@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Genetic and physiological effects of insecticide resistance in mosquitoes; scientific outreach to the community to encourage citizen science

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Skinner, Rachel Skinner, Rachel

rskinn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Taxonomy, phylogenetics, and biogeography of treehoppers in Membracidae

Advisor: Christopher Dietrich
portrait of Struckhoff, Emily Struckhoff, Emily

emilyds@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The taxonomy, natural history, and biogeography of ticks in Illinois

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Suresh, Sreelakshmi Suresh, Sreelakshmi

ssuresh@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Foraging behavior of honey bees in agricultural systems

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Swanson, Daniel Swanson, Daniel

drswans2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Systematics of assassin bugs

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Taylor, Lincoln Taylor, Lincoln

lnt3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Interactions between honey bees and their pathogens, in particular honey bee behavior

Advisor: Adam G Dolezal
portrait of Tetlie, Jonathan Tetlie, Jonathan

jtetlie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The lingering impact of agricultural practices on habitat restoration efforts of prairies and their effect on native bee communities

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Thomas, M. Jared Thomas, M. Jared

thomasmj@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Paleoentomology with emphasis on Tetrigidae (pygmy grasshoppers)

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Wargin, Annaliese Wargin, Annaliese

awargin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
The ecology of native pollinators in restored landscapes; insect behavioral responses to abiotic change

Advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt
portrait of Williams, Cariad Williams, Cariad

cariadw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Wide range of research interests within palaeontology including biomechanics of vertebrates, exceptional preservation of arthropods and taphonomic processes within the fossil record

Advisor: Sam Heads
portrait of Wilson, Sara Wilson, Sara

smw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Mosquito feeding behavior and control

Advisor: Chris Stone
portrait of Wu, Wen-Yen Wu, Wen-Yen

wywu@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Entomology
Chemical ecology of insects

Advisor: May Berenbaum