School of
Integrative Biology

SIB Directory

Enter name you wish to find; beginning letters are sufficient.

Graduate Students

Anderson, Nicholas

nlndrsn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Insect community responses to conservation and restoration and native bee ecology (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Antonson, Nicholas

nda4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Behavioral ecology, avian brood parasitism, coevolution, and the effect of parental care on brood parasites (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Banan, Darshi

banan2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB
217-333-1632

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Behrens, Colby

colbybb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Examining genetic mechanisms influencing behavior in three-spined stickleback fish (Advisor: Alison Bell)
Beuchat, Gabriel

beuchat2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(Li-Qing Chen, Advisor)
Burroughs, Charles

cburrou2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth)
Bush, Daniel

dsbush2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Navel orangeworm's relationship with Aspergillus mold (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Capel, Samantha

scapel2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

(Advisor: Ken Paige)
Chabain, Jules

chabain2@illinois.edu

Graduate Students

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Former paleontologist puzzled by animal weaponery and the linkage between shape, function and performance; using biomechanics, ct-scanned data, and comparative anatomy (advisor: Phil Anderson)
Chakraborty, Sulagna

schkrbr4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Vector-borne diseases and epidemiology of infectious diseases, focusing on the eco-epidemiology of a tick-borne disease in India called Kyasanur Forest Disease. I want to combine my interest in infectious disease with my background in public health and microbiology as well as use One Health approaches towards disease control and prevention. (advisor: Brian Allan)
Chen, Yaping

ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
217-819-2135

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Feng Sheng Hu)
Choquette, Nicole

choqutt2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth and Lane Rayburn)
Clem, C. Scott

carlc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Tracing native pollinator communities through time using museum specimens and historical data (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Cox, Maria

mlcox3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Paleogenomic analysis of immune change and function, as well as molecular identification of pathogens; particularly, how genes associated with immune function change through time, especially in populations undergoing long term stress (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Curtis, Amanda

amandac3@illinois.edu
W-421 Turner Hall

Graduate Student

PEEC

Use environmental DNA (eDNA) as a tool for aquatic conservation (advisor: Eric Larson)
Dai, Qihong

qihongd2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Fish ecology and biology; modeling (advisor: Cory Suski)
Dana, Catherine

cdana2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Cicada conservation and natural history (advisor: Sam Heads)
Darcy, Hannah

hdarcy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Morphology of the salamander skull, comparative biomechanics of feePding in land-to-water transitions, and biological material properties (advisor: Phil Anderson)
De Becker, Elsa

elsad2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology


de Flamingh, Alida

deflami2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student

PEEC

I use an integrative approach that combines spatial and genetic data through landscape genetics to study African elephant populations throughout southern Africa. My main research focus is conservation genetics, and in studies that employ ancient DNA analysis (advisor: Alfred Roca)
De Moya, Robert

rdemoya2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology, INHS

Examining the coevolution patterns between parasitic bird lice and their hosts (advisor: Kevin Johnson)
Dean, Charles

cedean2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Resolving the developmental physiology and genetics underlying bumble bee color patterns (advisor: May Berenbaum)
DeLucia, Nicholas

ndeluc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Carl Bernacchi)
Doucet Beaupré, Alice

doucetb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Computational phylogenetics and the development of novel stochastic phylodynamics models and tools for the study of microbial innovations, diversification, cladogenesis, and ecology (advisor: James O'Dwyer)
Drager, Kim

kdrager2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Nest architecture of soil dwelling ants (both ancient and modern) and how nest structure varies between ant species and geological environments (advisor: Andrew Suarez)
Edwards, Joseph

jedwa9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Perturbations of a forest nitrogen economy and its associated microbial community by invasive Alliaria petiolata (garlic mustard) (advisors: Anthony Yannarell and Wendy Yang)
Egenriether, Sada

egenrie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Microbial nitrogen transformations in agricultural soils (advisors: Angela Kent and Wendy Yang)
Favela, Alonso

favela3@illinois.edu
S-310 Turner Hall

Graduate student

PEEC

Microbial community composition and ecosystem function selected by plant host in the rhizosphere. (advisor: Angela Kent)
Flenniken, Matt

jeffryf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Effects of environmental change on vector ecology (advisor: Brian Allan)
Gibson, Joshua

jcgibso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Evolution of trap-jaw mechanism in ants (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Giers, Corbyn

sgiers2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Evolution and olfaction in Rhagoletis pomonella (advisor: Stewart Berlocher)
Grispo, Michael

mgrispo@gmail.com

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Fitness of organisms from aquatic to terrestrial (fish lenses) (advisor: Chris Cheng)
Haynes, Ellen

haynes11@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Wildlife epidemiology; emerging fungal disease in snakes; investigating how host immune function is related to disease severity, and analyzing fungal genomic variation (advisor: Matt Allender)
Heerah, Sachin

heerah2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Hernandez, Erica

ejherna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Ecology and management of ticks and of tick-borne diseases in residential and recreational areas near natural spaces (advisor: Chris Stone)
Hsieh, Edward

emhsieh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

The properties of phytochemicals in honeybee honey and general honeybee behavior (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Hutchinson, Sarah

smhutch2@illinois.edu

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Stephen Long)
Hyde, Charles

cahyde2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Plant-soil microbial interactions: the effects of bioenergy crop root exudation on microbial communities in agricultural soils (advisor: Wendy Yang)
Jones, Cody

cpjones2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Looking at the interplay between overcompensation and endoreduplication, specifically in the model system, soybean (advisor: Ken Paige)
Juma, Elijah

juma2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Understanding the ecology and behaviour of malaria and arboviral mosquitoes (advisor: Juma Muturi and Brian Allan)
Kannan, Kavya

kkannan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Karatgi, Ratna

karatgi2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Sexual selection: Intrasexual competition, mate choice, signalling and signal evolution (advisor: Becky Fuller)
Laserna Cowal, Alessa

laserna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Wildlife responses to anthropogenic changes, animal behavior, wildlife conservation (advisor: Ken Paige)
Lawson, Shelby

slawson3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Behavioral ecology, breeding strategies, mate choice, vocal communication/perception in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Lira Viana, Jessica

liravia2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: James Dalling)
Long, Kira

kira2@illinois.edu
217 Turner Hall

Graduate Student

PEEC

Investigating the supposedly stable hybrid zone of two manakin species in Panama; examining the effects of sexual and natural selection on hybrids and parental species (advisor: Jeff Brawn)
Low, Kelsey

kmlow2@illinois.edu
79 Natural Resources Building

Graduate student

PEEC

Emergence of Ranavirus in endangered populations of amphibians and reptile (advisors: Chris Phillips and Matthew Allender)
Luro, Alec

alecl2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Behavioral & cognitive ecology, evolution, avian brood parasitism and species recognition in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Mayfield-Jones, Dustin

dustinm2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
McDaniel, Lauren

lkm4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Behavior, sexual selection, and speciation in killifish (advisor Becky Fuller)
McLean, Shay Akil

samclea2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Evolutionary anthropological genetics (advisor: Charles Roseman)
Montag, William

montag2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Conservation of soil and litter dwelling insects, especially beetles (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Montes, Christopher M

cmontes3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

Examining Soybean (Glycine max (L.) Merr.] and Maize (Zea mays L.) physiological responses to elevated ozone concentrations and genetically mapping ozone response (advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth))
Morris, Brendan

bomorri2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Historical biogeography and systematics of Carribean treehoppers (Hemiptera: Membracidae) (advisor: Chris Dietrich)
Murphree, Maggie

sarahmm5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Emergent behavior, division of labor, and social networks of honey bee colonies (advisor: Gene Robinson)
Napier, Joseph

jnapier2@illinois.edu

217-244-9871

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Feng Sheng Hu)
Newman, Evan

evanan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Distribution patterns of Plecoptera (Stoneflies) of the midwest (advisor: Ed DeWalt)
Nguyen, Julie

jknguyn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Njoroge, Teresia

tnjorog2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Role of insects P450s in insecticides resistance (advisors: May Berenbaum and Chris Stone)
Noel, Kylee

krnoel@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Genetic and physiological effects of insecticide resistance in mosquitoes; scientific outreach to the community to encourage citizen science (advisor: Chris Stone)
Ooi, Sean

sooi3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Biogeochemistry and microbial ecology of nitrous oxide production and consumption in soils (advisor: Wendy Yang)
Paul, Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Paul, Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture (advisor: Evan DeLucia)
Pearlstein, Daniel

djp@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Chemical ecology of eusocial insects, especially honeybees (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Pelech, Elena

pelech@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Carl Bernacchi)
Perez, Sierra

sierrap2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Plant-soil feedbacks in montane neotropical forests (advisor: James Dalling)
Perrin-Stowe, Tolulope

tperri2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student

PEEC

African Elephant mitogenomes and phylogeography (advisor: Al Roca)
Prada Cordero, Cecilia

cprada@illinois.edu

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: James Dalling)
Price, Gabriel

gjprice2@illinois.edu
W-316 Turner Hall

Graduate Student

PEEC

Implications of plant-soil feedback on community composition and how species invasion can shape these interactions (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Quebedeaux, Jennifer

quebede2@illinois.edu

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Raudabaugh, Daniel

raudaba2@illinois.edu

570-651-0312

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Miller)
Rayamajhi, Niraj

nirajr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Population genomics of natural populations and computational biology (advisor: Julian Catchen)
Ricks, Kevin

ricks3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Microbial community and evolutionary ecology, evolution of symbiosis (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Riley, Alex

abriley2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology


Rios Acosta, Lorena

lrios@illinois.edu

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Andrew Leakey)
Rivera, Michael

mdriver3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Ecological and evolutionary drivers of morphological variation in social insect workers (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Rivera-Colón, Angel

angelgr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Genomics, genome evolution (advisor: Julian Catchen)
Romero Valero, Ingrid

romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1186

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Surangi Punyasena)
Saboowala, Sana

sanas4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Using a multidisciplinary approach to study the ways in which trauma is physically embodied and inherited, focusing on potential epigenetic effects of border creation during the 1947 Partition of South Asia using molecular methods and oral histories (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Scharf, Hannah

hscharf2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Behavioral ecology, social and mating systems, avian brood parasitism (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Schwing, Cameron

cschwin2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Effects of manipulating larval mosquito habitat on development and fitness (advisor: Carla Cáceres)
Scott, Bradley

brscott2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Early evolution of vertebrates, specifically the changes in feeding and locomotion associated with the transition from jawless to jawed vertebrates. I seek to understand these changes using paleontology, functional morphology, and biomechanics (advisor: Phil Anderson)
Seyfried, Georgia

gss3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Wendy Yang)
Shrivastava, Stuti

shrvstv3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon)
Skinner, Rachel

rskinn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Taxonomy, phylogenetics, and biogeography of treehoppers in Membracidae (advisor: Chris Dietrich)
South, Eric

ejsouth@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Stonefly taxonomy and systematics (advisor: Ed DeWalt)
Strailey, Katherine

ks26@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Ecology, physiology, and conservation of freshwater fishes (advisors: Cory Suski and Piotr Cienciala)
Strickland, Lynette

lrstric2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Genetic and developmental mechanisms of color variation in Cassidine beetles, it's ecological significance and how color polymorphisms are maintained in populations (advisor: Carla Caceres)
Stuart, Sarai

saraihs2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Evolution of social life and mechanisms that underpin behaviors in the colony environment (advisor: Gene Robinson)
Sutton, Nicholas

nmsutto2@illinois.edu

Graduate student

PEEC

Modeling decision-making processes during predator-prey encounters, with a focus on optimal escape strategies in ungulates (advisor: James O'Dwyer)
Swanson, Daniel

drswans2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Systematics of assassin bugs (advisors: Sam Heads)
Tetlie, Jonathan

jtetlie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

The lingering impact of agricultural practices on habitat restoration efforts of prairies and their effect on native bee communities (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Thomas, M. Jared

thomasmj@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Paleoentomology with emphasis on Tetrigidae (pygmy grasshoppers) (advisor: Sam Heads)
Torres, Jacob

jacobdt3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Native bee ecology, urban ecology, bee/pollinator health, and insect microbiomes (advisor: Adam Dolezal)
Virrueta Herrera, Stephany

svirru2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Ornithology and phylogentics, specifically the evolutionary patterns between birds and their parasitic feather lice (advisor: Kevin Johnson).
Wedow, Jessica

wedow2@illinois.edu

Grad Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Elizabeth Ainsworth)
Williams, Cariad

cariadw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Entomology

Wide range of research interests within palaeontology including biomechanics of vertebrates, exceptional preservation of arthropods and taphonomic processes within the fossil record (advisor: Sam Heads)
Wilson, Loralee

ljwilso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

(advisor: Chris Cheng)
Winnicki, Sarah

sarahkw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

PEEC

Avian growth and development, parental care behavior, and brood parasitism (advisors: TJ Benson and Mark Hauber)
Wszalek, Andrew

wszalek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior

Physical and chemical compensatory responses of soybeans following damage (advisor: Ken Paige)
Xin, Yinghui

xin7@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Yu, Li'Ang

liangy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree

dpz2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)
Zhang, Chen

chenz6@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology


Zhang, Xiaodan

xiaodan5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology


Zhu, Fan

fanzhu2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student

Plant Biology

(advisor: Ray Ming)