SIB Directory

Enter name you wish to find; beginning letters are sufficient.

Graduate Students

Achurym2 Achury Morales,  Rafael

achurym2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Ant ecology and invasive species (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Eallma2 Allmann Updyke,  Erin

eallma2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Vector borne diseases; disease ecology (advisor: Brian Allan)
Nlndrsn2 Anderson,  Nicholas

nlndrsn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Insect community responses to conservation and restoration and native bee ecology (advisor: Alexandra Harmon-Threatt)
Crausti2 Austin,  Chip

crausti2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Morphological Systematics of Paraneoptera (advisor: Christopher Dietrich)
Baena2 Baena,  Nathalie

baena2@illinois.edu
216 NRSA

Graduate Student
Entomology

Systematics of Tridactyloidea (advisor: Sam Heads)
Banan d %28002%29 Banan,  Darshi

banan2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB
217-333-1632

Graduate Student
School of Integrative Biology, Plant Biology

Amagne2 Beck,  Alyssa (Magnetta)

amagne2@illinois.edu
S-310 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Characterizing plant-soil feedbacks between invasive Lespedeza cuneata and native potential competitors (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Bensky2 Bensky,  Miles

bensky2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Populations and individual level differences in cognitive performance using threespined stickleback as a model. How individual levels of behavior relate to differences in learning and elucidating the ecological and evolutionary factors driving these differences (advisor: Alison Bell)
Burroughs c Burroughs,  Charles

cburrou2@illinois.edu
147 ERML
217-244-6110

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Dsbush2 Bush,  Daniel

dsbush2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Navel orangeworm's relationship with Aspergillus mold (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Chen yaping Chen,  Yaping

ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
217-819-2135

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

C.scottclem Clem,  C. Scott

carlc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Interested in tracing native pollinator communities through time using museum specimens and historical data. During master's work at Auburn University, conducted research dealing with community ecology, plant-insect interactions, and insect taxonomy (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Dbcohen3 Cohen,  Dora

dbcohen3@illinois.edu
S-310 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Microbial community composition and ecosystem function in dynamic environments (advisor: Angela Kent)
Photo Corrales Osorio,  Adriana

corrlssr@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: James Dalling)
Amanda curtis Curtis,  Amanda

amandac3@illinois.edu
W-421 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Cdana2 Dana,  Catherine

cdana2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Honey bee behavior (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Deflami2 de Flamingh,  Alida

deflami2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student
PEEC

I use an integrative approach that combines spatial and genetic data through landscape genetics to study African elephant populations throughout southern Africa. My main research focus is conservation genetics, and in studies that employ ancient DNA analysis (advisor: Alfred Roca)
Robertdemoya De Moya,  Robert

rdemoya2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology, INHS

Examining the coevolution patterns between parasitic bird lice and their hosts (advisor: Kevin Johnson)
Cedean2 Dean,  Charles

cedean2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Resolving the developmental physiology and genetics underlying bumble bee color patterns (advisor: Sydney Cameron)
Deangelr DeAngelis,  Ross

deangelr@illinois.edu
3614B Beckman Institute
512-917-1311

Graduate Student
PEEC

How social circumstances and group dynamics shape the brain and behavior. Using the protandrous anemonefish A. ocellaris as a model system (advisor: Justin Rhodes)
Brennadecker Decker,  Brenna

bldecke2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Bee community and trait diversity through time (advisor: Alex Harmon-Threatt)
Delucia nicholas DeLucia,  Nicholas

ndeluc2@illinois.edu
193 ERML
217-244-3079

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Mdemkov3 Demkovich,  Mark

mdemkov3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Navel Orangeworm Detoxification Systems (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Jacobdixon Dixon,  Jacob

jidixon2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Ecological biochemistry of plant and insect interactions (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Alicedoucetbeauprethumb Doucet Beaupré,  Alice

doucetb2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Computational phylogenetics and the development of novel stochastic phylodynamics models and tools for the study of microbial innovations, diversification, cladogenesis, and ecology (advisor: James O'Dwyer)
Evandoughtythumb Doughty,  Evan

emd2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Paleontology, geology, and niche modeling, specifically Cenozoic mammals with a focus on the Tayassuidae (peccaries) and other artiodactyls. (advisor: Jon Marcot)
Kdrager2 Drager,  Kim

kdrager2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Nest architecture of soil dwelling ants (both ancient and modern) and how nest structure varies between ant species and geological environments (advisor: Andrew Suarez)
Sadaegenriether Egenriether,  Sada

egenrie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Alonso favela Favela,  Alonso

favela3@illinois.edu
S-310 Turner Hall

Graduate student
PEEC

Microbial community composition and ecosystem function selected by plant host in the rhizosphere. (advisor: Angela Kent)
Mcferna2 Fernandez,  Matias

mcferna2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

(advisor: Feng Sheng Hu)
Ford  alexandra   peec photo Ford,  Alexandra

aliford2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Studying development of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis and the fear response of tame and aggressive fox kits through the Fox Domestication Project in Russia (advisor: Anna Kukekova)
Jcgibso2 Gibson,  Joshua

jcgibso2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Evolution of trap-jaw mechanism in ants (advisors: Gene Robinson and Andy Suarez)
Sgiers2 Giers,  Sarah

sgiers2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Evolution and olfaction in Rhagoletis pomonella (advisors: Stewart Berlocher and Hugh Robertson)
Gog l Gog,  Linus

linusgog@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Photo Grispo,  Michael

mgrispo@gmail.com

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Fitness of organisms from aquatic to terrestrial (fish lenses)
Shals3 Halsey,  Samniqueka (Sam)

shals3@illinois.edu
W-411 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Research focuses on understanding the ecology of Lyme disease in regards to the black-legged tick and wildlife hosts and how they relate to spread of both the tick and pathogen (advisor: James R. Miller)
Dhaselh2 Haselhorst,  Derek

dhaselh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological role of pollen productivity in tropical forest communities as it relates to long-term variability in climate, community structure, and reproductive output (advisor: Surangi Punyasena)
Heerah s Heerah,  Sachin

heerah2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
Holmess1 Holmes,  Christopher

cholmes4@illinois.edu
217-300-2324

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

My research focuses on the role of zooplankton dispersal and subsequent colonization on community assemblages in aquatic ecosystems. (advisor: Carla Caceres)
Edwardhsieh Hsieh,  Edward

emhsieh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

The properties of phytochemicals in honeybee honey and general honeybee behavior (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Tdjohns2 Johnson,  Todd

tdjohns2@illinois.edu
217-333-7783

Graduate Student
Entomology

Host-location and host-range in forest insects; surveying the parsitoid communities that attack common species of cerambycids in Illinois (advisor: Lawrence Hanks)
Bmjones2 Jones,  Beryl

bmjones2@illinois.edu
2500 Institute for Genomic Biology
928-595-1866

Graduate Student
PEEC

Social insect behavior and the mechanisms underlying social evolution, specifically the mechanisms by which division of labor has evolved in bees (advisor: Gene Robinson)
Jmjones9 Jones,  Jennifer

jmjones9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Nutrient concentrations and other environmental characteristics influence wood decay rate and communities of wood decomposing fungi and bacteria (advisors: Katy Heath and James Dalling)
Josek1 Josek,  Tanya

josek1@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Bioinspiration and ticks (advisor: Marianne Alleyne)
Elijahjuma Juma,  Elijah

juma2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Understanding the ecology and behaviour of malaria and arboviral mosquitoes (advisor: Juma Muturi)
Kannan.kavya Kannan,  Kavya

kkannan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
Aronkatz Katz,  Aron

aronkatz@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Collembola systematics, speciation, biodiversity, morphological and molecular evolution, and Collembola as bio-indicators (advisor: Felipe Soto-Adames)
Krichel2 Krichels,  Alexander

krichel2@illinois.edu
217-244-2614

Graduate Student
PEEC

Affects of seasonal ponding on greenhouse gas emissions from upland soils (advisor: Wendy Yang)
Shelbylawson Lawson,  Shelby

slawson3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral ecology, breeding strategies, mate choice, vocal communication/perception in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Long  kira   peec photo cropped Long,  Kira

kira2@illinois.edu
217 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Investigating the supposedly stable hybrid zone of two manakin species in Panama; examining the effects of sexual and natural selection on hybrids and parental species (advisor: Jeff Brawn)
Kelsey low Low,  Kelsey

kmlow2@illinois.edu
79 Natural Resources Building

Graduate student
PEEC

I am studying infectious diseases of amphibians and reptiles, and mapping their distribution across a landscape to identify areas of concern. Of particular interest to me is the emergence of Ranavirus in endangered populations of amphibians and reptile
Alexluro Luro,  Alec

alecl2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Behavioral & cognitive ecology, evolution, avian brood parasitism and species recognition in birds (advisor: Mark Hauber)
Photo Meier,  Linnea

lrmeier2@illinois.edu
217-333-7783

Graduate Student
Entomology

Pheromone chemistry and ecology of longhorn beetles (Cerambycidae) (advisor: Larry Hanks)
Jmmesa2 Mesa,  Joshua (Miles)

jmmesa2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Plant-animal interactions with an emphasis on the plant compensatory response following herbivory
Christianmillanhernandez Millan Hernandez,  Christian

millanh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Phylogenetic patterns of host specialization between parasitoid wasps and Auchenorrhyncha (advisor: Chris Dietrich)
Miller.jesse Miller,  Jesse

jnmille2@illinois.edu
217-333-8048

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Carl Bernacchi
Willmontag Montag,  William

montag2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Conservation of soil and litter dwelling insects, especially beetles (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Rmoran9 Moran,  Rachel

rmoran9@illinois.edu
202 Shelford Vivarium

Graduate Student
PEEC

Reinforcement, sexual selection and speciation in darters (advisor: Becky Fuller)
Bomorri2 Morris,  Brendan

bomorri2@illinois.edu
217-244-9578

Graduate Student
Entomology

Historical biogeography and systematics of Carribean treehoppers (Hemiptera: Membracidae) (advisor: Christopher Dietrich)
Bdmorri2 Morrison,  Bailey

bdmorri2@illinois.edu
238 Computing Applications Building

Graduate Student
PEEC

Environmental remote sensing, paleoecology, plant climate interactions, biogeography (advisor: Jonathan Greenberg)
Napier c Napier,  Joseph

jnapier2@illinois.edu
217-244-9871

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Evannewman Newman,  Evan

evanan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Distribution patterns of Plecoptera (Stoneflies) of the midwest (advisor: Ed DeWalt)
Nguyen j Nguyen,  Julie

jknguyn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Ray Ming
Nishika2 Nishikawa,  Elise

nishika2@illinois.edu
S-217 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Understanding how and why neotropical resident birds respond to environmental variation and climate change (advisor: Jeffrey Brawn)
Tnjorog2 Njoroge,  Teresia

tnjorog2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Role of insects P450s in insecticides resistance (advisors: May Berenbaum and Mary Schuler)
Aowings2 Owings,  Amanda

aowings2@illinois.edu
73 Medical Sciences Building
217-244-2253

Graduate Student
PEEC

Migration routes of Native American people using population genetics (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Aparker9 Parker,  Allison

aparker9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Effects of competition in the larval environment on the capacity of adult mosquitoes to vector diseases (advisors: Brian Allan and Juma Muturi)
Kparks4 Parks,  Kyle

kparks4@illinois.edu
217-333-2170

Graduate Student
Entomology

Microgastrine systematics (advisor: James Whitfield)
Paul rachel Paul,  Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Andrew Leakey
Rpaul Paul,  Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture (advisor: Sarah Davis)
Danielpearlsteinheadshot Pearlstein,  Daniel

djp@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Chemical ecology of eusocial insects, especially honeybees (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Tperri2 Perrin-Stowe,  Tolulope

tperri2@illinois.edu
436 Animal Sciences Lab

Graduate Student
PEEC

African Elephant mitogenomes and phylogeography (advisor: Al Roca)
Gabe price picture Price,  Gabriel

gjprice2@illinois.edu
W-316 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Implications of plant-soil feedback on community composition and how species invasion can shape these interactions (advisor: Anthony Yannarell)
Raudabaugh d Raudabaugh,  Daniel

raudaba2@illinois.edu
570-651-0312

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Refslan2 Refsland,  Tyler

refslan2@illinois.edu
C-524 Turner Hall

Graduate Student
PEEC

Abiotic and biotic effects of fire on Quercus drought vulnerability. How the life-history strategies that confer tolerance to fire disturbance may also influence their resistance and resilience to drought stress (advisor: Jennifer Fraterrigo)
Kristenreiter Reiter,  Kristen

reiter5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

(advisor: M. Alleyne)
Michael rivera Rivera,  Michael

mdriver3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological and evolutionary drivers of morphological variation in social insect workers (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Angelrivera colonthumb Rivera-Colón,  Angel

angelgr2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Genomics, genome evolution (advisor: Julian Catchen)
Ruzi2 Ruzi,  Selina

ruzi2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Invasion ecology and plant-insect interactions. Determining if non-myrmecochorous plants engage in ant-mediated seed dispersal and what chemical cues promote this seed-ant dispersal interaction (advisor: Andy Suarez)
Matthewsafford Safford,  Matthew

safford3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Research interests are Bat-insect interactions and habitat use of sinkhole pond ecosystems (advisor: Steve Taylor)
Bradleyscott Scott,  Bradley

brscott2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

Early evolution of vertebrates, specifically the changes in feeding and locomotion associated with the transition from jawless to jawed vertebrates. I seek to understand these changes using paleontology, functional morphology, and biomechanics (advisor: Phil Anderson)
Shrivastava s Shrivastava,  Stuti

shrvstv3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Rachelskinner Skinner,  Rachel

rskinn2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Taxonomy, phylogenetics, and biogeography of treehoppers in Membracidae (advisor: Chris Dietrich)
Solorzano lowell Solorzano-Lowell,  Kathryn

slrznlw2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Tarastew Stewart,  Tara

tarastew@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ecological immunology of Daphnia dentifera (advisor: Carla Cáceres)
Lrstric2 Strickland,  Lynette

lrstric2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

(advisor: Ken Paige)
Saraistuart Stuart,  Sarai

saraihs2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Nicholas sutton Sutton,  Nicholas

nmsutto2@illinois.edu

Graduate student
PEEC

Modeling decision-making processes during predator-prey encounters, with a focus on optimal escape strategies in ungulates.
Drswans2 Swanson,  Daniel

drswans2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Systematics of assassin bugs (advisors: Steven J. Taylor and Sam W. Heads)
Adsweet2 Sweet,  Drew

adsweet2@illinois.edu
287 Natural Resources Building

Graduate Student
PEEC

Coevolutionary patterns between birds and their parasitic feather lice (advisor: Kevin P. Johnson)
Jonathantetliethumb Tetlie,  Jonathan

jtetlie2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

The lingering impact of agricultural practices on habitat restoration efforts of prairies and their effect on native bee communities (advisor: Alexandra Harmon-Threatt)
Stephanyvirruetaherrera Virrueta Herrera,  Stephany

svirru2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Ornithology and phylogentics, specifically the evolutionary patterns between birds and their parasitic feather lice (advisor: Kevin Johnson).
Wahl h Wahl,  Hannah

hwahl2@illinois.edu
217-244-0439

Graduate Student
Plant Biology

Advisor: Andrew Miller
Ewelsh2 Welsh,  Erin

ewelsh2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Potential impact of climate change on tick and tick-borne disease ecology in Panama (advisor: Brian Allan)
Dpwhite4 White,  Dalon

dpwhite4@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

The intersection and application of physiology and ecology to climate change within aquatic ecosystems (advisor: David Wahl)
Kewitt2 Witt,  Kelsey

kewitt2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
PEEC

Domestication, ancient DNA and the population history of dogs in the America's (advisor: Ripan Malhi)
Wolz1 Wolz,  Kevin

wolz1@illinois.edu
1500 IGB

Graduate Student
PEEC

Biogeochemical consequences of an agricultural transition from row-crops to agroforestry (advisor: Evan DeLucia)
Wong michael Wong,  Michael

mjwong2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Entomology

Honey bee behavior (advisor: May Berenbaum)
Eyoon8 Yoon,  Veronica

eyoon8@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Animal Biology

I am currently studying the evolutionary biology and physiology of the most derived species of Antarctic fishes (Notothenioidei: Channichthyidae) through the analysis of genetic data.
Zhu fan Zhu,  Fan

fanzhu2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student
Plant Biology