Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Faculty

portrait of Ainsworth, Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth, Elizabeth "Lisa"
USDA ARS
Adjunct Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
lisa.ainsworth@ars.usda.gov
147 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Berenbaum, May Berenbaum, May
Professor & Head - Entomology
Professor - Plant Biology
Swanlund Chair
PEEC
maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
MC-118

Lab site
portrait of Bernacchi, Carl Bernacchi, Carl J
USDA ARS
Adjunct Professor - Plant Biology
carl.bernacchi@ars.usda.gov

Lab site
portrait of Brooks, Matthew Brooks, Matthew D.
USDA ARS
Adjunct Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
mb5886@illinois.edu
161 ERML
portrait of Burgess, Steven Burgess, Steven
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
sjb287@illinois.edu
283 Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Chen, Li-Qing Chen, Li-Qing
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Conroy, Jessica Conroy, Jessica
Associate Professor - Geology; Plant Biology
PEEC
jconro@illinois.edu
Dept. of Geology, Natural History Building 3042
MC-102

Lab site
portrait of Dalling, James Dalling, James
Professor - Plant Biology
Director, Integrative Biology Honors
PEEC
dalling@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of DeLucia, Evan DeLucia, Evan H.
G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology
Professor - Plant Biology
Director - Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
PEEC
delucia@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Downie, Stephen Downie, Stephen R.
Interim Associate Dean for Curricula and Academic Policy,
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Professor, Department of Plant Biology
Associate Director of Academic Affairs, School of Integrative Biology
Curator, University of Illinois Vascular Plant Herbarium
PEEC
sdownie@illinois.edu
2070 Lincoln Hall
MC-448

Lab site
portrait of Heath, Katy Heath, Katy
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Lara, Mark Lara, Mark
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
mjlara@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Leakey, Andrew Leakey, Andrew D.B.
Professor and Head - Plant Biology
Director - Center for Advanced Bioenergy and Bioproducts Innovation
PEEC
leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
MC-195

Lab site
portrait of Long, Stephen Long, Stephen
Ikenberry Endowed University Chair of Crop Sciences and Plant Biology
PEEC
slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Marshall-Colon, Amy Marshall-Colon, Amy
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of McGrath, Justin McGrath, Justin
USDA ARS
Adjunct Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
jmcgrath@illinois.edu
197 ERML
MC-051
portrait of Ming, Ray Ming, Ray
Professor - Plant Biology
rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of O'Dwyer, James O'Dwyer, James
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Ort, Donald Ort, Donald R
Professor - Plant Biology
d-ort@illinois.edu
1406 IGB
MC-195

Lab site
portrait of Punyasena, Surangi Punyasena, Surangi W.
Associate Professor, Associate Head, Director of Graduate Studies - Plant Biology
PEEC
spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Schuler, Mary Schuler, Mary
Professor - Plant Biology; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology
Affiliate - Entomology
maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Yang, Wendy Yang, Wendy H.
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site

Affiliates

portrait of Fraterrigo, Jennifer Fraterrigo, Jennifer
Associate Professor - Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
Affiliate - Plant Biology
PEEC
jmf@illinois.edu
W-423 Turner Hall
MC-047
portrait of Miller, Andrew Miller, Andrew
Principal Mycologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Plant Biology
PEEC
amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab
MC-652

Lab site
portrait of Molano-Flores, Brenda Molano-Flores, Brenda
Senior Plant Ecologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology; Plant Biology
molano1@illinois.edu
2012 Natural Resource Building
MC-652

Lab site
portrait of Warnow, Tandy Warnow, Tandy
Founder Professor and Associate Head - Computer Science
Affiliate - Entomology; Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior; Plant Biology
PEEC
warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
MC-258

Emeriti

portrait of Augspurger, Carol Augspurger, Carol
Professor Emerita - Plant Biology
PEEC
carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Cheeseman, John Cheeseman, John M.
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
j-cheese@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Govindjee, Govindjee Govindjee, Govindjee
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
gov@illinois.edu
669 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Huber, Steven Huber, Steven Carl
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
MC-051
portrait of Sargent, Malcolm Sargent, Malcolm
Associate Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
malcolms@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Seigler, David Seigler, David
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
PEEC
daveseig@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Shearer, Carol Shearer, Carol
Professor Emerita - Plant Biology
carolshe@illinois.edu
655B Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Zielinski, Raymond Zielinski, Raymond
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
rez@illinois.edu