Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Students

portrait of Adaime, Marc-Elie Adaime, Marc-Elie

madaime2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Development of phylogenetically-informed computer vision methods for fossil pollen recognition and the study of long-term trends in plant ecology and evolution.

Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Beuchat, Gabriel Beuchat, Gabriel

beuchat2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of De Becker, Elsa De Becker, Elsa

elsad2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of Demler, Hannah Demler, Hannah

hdemler@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Investigating the role of aquaporin plasma membrane intrinsic proteins in plant responses to ozone

Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Feng, Jennifer Feng, Jennifer

jtfeng3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Deep learning for pollen analysis, paleo-ENSO variability, historical ecology, Holocene land use and land cover change, landscape archaeology

Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Flores, Manuel Flores, Manuel

manuelf3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Friedmann, Caroline Friedmann, Caroline

ckfried2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Mark Lara
portrait of Fu, Jie Fu, Jie

jief3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Jones, Lance Jones, Lance

lanceej2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Systematics of flowering plants and insects, especially Apiaceae (the carrot or parsley family) and Diptera (the true flies); with emphasis on monographic taxonomy and the description of new species; also understanding the evolutionary relationships and ecology of these groups

Advisor: Stephen R. Downie
portrait of Jops, Kenny Jops, Kenny

kjops2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Mathematical and modelling approaches to ecological theory including community assemblage and plant competitive interactions.

Advisor: James O'Dwyer
portrait of Karakehian, Jason Karakehian, Jason

jasonmk3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The systematics, biology and ecology of woody tissue-inhabiting, non-lichenized fungi in class Leotiomycetes (Ascomycota), with a special focus on taxa in orders Rhytismatales and Marthamycetales

Advisor: Andrew Miller
portrait of Kwafo, Seldon Kwafo, Seldon

skwafo@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Justin McGrath
portrait of Lakeram, Scott Lakeram, Scott

lakeram2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Martin, Duncan Martin, Duncan

dgm3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Interactive effects of drought and ozone sress on crop physiology and biochemistry

Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Mayfield-Jones, Dustin Mayfield-Jones, Dustin

dustinm2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Miguel

zarluis2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Effects of soil nutrient availability on the development of Forest monodominance and subordinate species composition in Panama

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Osterhout, Bram Osterhout, Bram

bramco2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Gene regulation in sorghum and metabolic modeling of wheat

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Pagaldevatti, Sumashini Pagaldevatti, Sumashini

ssp9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Tropical forest ecology, plant-animal-fungal interactions, seed ecology

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Paul, Rachel Paul, Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Paul, Robert Paul, Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture

Advisor: Evan H. DeLucia
portrait of Pelech, Elena Pelech, Elena

pelech@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Elucidating the complexities of maize and soybean intercropping systems to optimize productivity and resource-use efficiencies

Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Prada Cordero, Cecilia Prada Cordero, Cecilia

cprada@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The relationship between soil nutrient availability and the diversity, composition and distribution of tree species in montane forest in Panama, and it’s consequences for ecosystem carbon cycling.

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Quebedeaux, Jennifer Quebedeaux, Jennifer

quebede2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Genetic Control of Carbon Metabolism and Water Use Efficiency as Targets to Improve Photosynthesis and Crop Yield

Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Schore, Aiden Schore, Aiden Isaac Gittler

aschore2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Examining interactions between climate, disturbances, and the physical environment across the Alaskan tundra via analysis of permafrost degradation, tall shrub expansion, and biological feedback effects

Advisor: Mark Lara
portrait of Seyfried, Georgia Seyfried, Georgia

gss3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Assess carbon and nitrogen storage patterns in forest stands dominated by ECM- versus AM- associated trees.

Advisor: Wendy H. Yang
portrait of Singh, Dilkaran Singh, Dilkaran

dilkaran@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Song, Jinjin Song, Jinjin

jinjins2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zhang, Chen Zhang, Chen

chenz6@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Zhang, Xiaodan Zhang, Xiaodan

xiaodan5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming