Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Directory

Ainsworth, Elizabeth
USDA ARS Adjunct Professor

Plant Biology, PEEC

lisa.ainsworth@ars.usda.gov
147 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-265-9887
Lab site
Augspurger, Carol
Professor Emerita

Plant Biology, PEEC

carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-1298
Banan, Darshi
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

banan2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB
1206 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana IL. 61801
MC-195
217-333-1632
Berenbaum, May
Professor & Head - Department of Entomology, Swanlund Chair

Entomology, PEEC, Plant Biology

maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
320 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-118
217-333-2910 / 217-333-7784
Lab site
Bernacchi, Carl J
USDA ARS Adjunct Professor

Plant Biology

carl.bernacchi@ars.usda.gov
1201 W. Gregory Drive196 E.R. Madigan LaboratoryUrbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-8048
Lab site
Beuchat, Gabriel
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

beuchat2@illinois.edu
379 ERML, 1201 W. Gregory Dr., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051
Lab Affiliation: Li-Qing Chen
Black, Deborah
Greenhouse Manager

Plant Biology

black3@illinois.edu
1220 Plant Sci Lab
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-634
217-333-7857
Briskin, Donald
Affiliate

Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology, Plant Biology

dbriskin@illinois.edu
380 NSRC
MC-637
217-244-1115
Burroughs, Charles
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

cburrou2@illinois.edu
147 ERML, 1201 W. Gregory Dr., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051
Cheeseman, John M.
Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology

j-cheese@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-300-9323
Lab site
Chen, Li-Qing
Assistant Professor

Plant Biology

lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801
379 ERML
MC-051
Lab site
Chen, Yaping
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-819-2135
Choquette, Nicole
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

choqutt2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Christian, Natalie
Postdoc

Plant Biology

nsc@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Conroy, Jessica
Assistant Professor, Geology and Plant Biology

Plant Biology

jconro@illinois.edu
Dept. of Geology, Natural History Building 3042
1301 W. Green St., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-102
217-244-4855
Lab site
D'Andrea Rocha, Rafael
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Plant Biology

rdandrea@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Dalling, James
Professor and Head - Department of Plant Biology

Plant Biology, PEEC

dalling@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-244-8914
Lab site
De Becker, Elsa
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

elsad2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Lab Affiliation: Stephen Long
DeLucia, Evan H.
G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology; Professor; Director - Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment

Plant Biology, PEEC

delucia@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Lab site
DeLucia, Nicholas
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

ndeluc2@illinois.edu
193 ERML, 1201 W. Gregory Dr., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051
Downie, Stephen R.
Professor, SIB Associate Director of Academic Affairs

Plant Biology, PEEC, School of Integrative Biology

sdownie@illinois.edu
239 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
(217) 333-1275
Lab site
Ferrer, Astrid
Senior Research Scientist

Plant Biology

aferrer@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Gabay-Laughnan, Susan
Senior Research Scientist

Plant Biology

gabaylau@illinois.edu
355 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-2919
Govindjee, Govindjee
Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology

gov@illinois.edu
669 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-1794
Lab site
Grennan, Aleel
Senior Research Specialist

Plant Biology

agrennan@illinois.edu
1407 IGB
1206 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana IL. 61801
MC-195
217-333-7768
Heath, Katy
Associate Professor

Plant Biology, PEEC

kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-265-5473
Lab site
Heerah, Sachin
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

heerah2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Hu, Feng Sheng
Professor and Dean of LAS, and a Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology

Plant Biology, PEEC

fshu@illinois.edu
2090 Lincoln Hall
702 S. Wright St.
MC-120
217-244-2982
Lab site
Huber, Steven Carl
Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology, Physiological & Molecular Plant Biology

schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-265-0909
Hutchinson, Sarah
Grad Student

Plant Biology

smhutch2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Kannan, Kavya
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

kkannan2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Katz-Downie, Deborah
Academic Hourly Admin.

Plant Biology

dkatzdow@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-1275
Lara, Mark
Assistant Professor

Plant Biology

mjlara@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Leakey, Andrew D.B.
Professor and University Scholar

Plant Biology, PEEC

leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
1206 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana IL. 61801
MC-195
217-244-0302
Lab site
Lenz, Jana
Human Resource Associate

Plant Biology

janalenz@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
505 S. Goodwin Ave., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-116
(217) 244-1654
Lira Viana, Jessica
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

liravia2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Long, Stephen
Gutgsell Endowed Professor

Crop Sciences, Plant Biology, PEEC

slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-244-0881
Lab site
Marshall-Colon, Amy
Assistant Professor

Plant Biology

amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-300-1430
Lab site
Masters, Michael
Field Research Specialist

Plant Biology

mmasters@illinois.edu
1400 IGB
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-195
217-333-1632
Mayfield-Jones, Dustin
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

dustinm2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
McGrath, Jesse
SoyFACE Research Coordinator

Plant Biology

jamcgrat@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
1206 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana IL. 61801
MC-195
217-300-7359
Miller, Andrew
Affiliate

Plant Biology, PEEC

amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab
1909 S. Oak St., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-652
Lab site
Ming, Ray
Professor

Plant Biology

rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-333-1221
Lab site
Molano-Flores, Brenda
Affiliate, Senior Plant Ecologist

Entomology, Plant Biology, INHS

molano1@illinois.edu
2012 Natural Resource Building
INHS, 1816 S. Oak St., Champaign, IL. 61801
MC-652
Lab site
Montes, Christopher M
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

cmontes3@illinois.edu
147 ERML, 1201 W. Gregory Dr., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051
Lab site
Muscarella, Mario
Postdoc Research Associate

Plant Biology

mmuscar@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Napier, Joseph
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

jnapier2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-244-9871
Nguyen, Julie
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

jknguyn2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
O'Dwyer, James
Associate Professor

Plant Biology, PEEC

jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-244-7086
Lab site
Ort, Donald R
Professor

Plant Biology

d-ort@illinois.edu
1406 IGB
1206 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana IL. 61801
MC-195
217-333-2093
Lab site
Paul, Rachel
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

paul9@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Paul, Robert
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

rpaul@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Pelech, Elena
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

pelech@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Pignon, Charles
Postdoc Research Associate

Plant Biology

pignon2@illinois.edu
1402 IGB, 1206 W. Gregory, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-195
Prada Cordero, Cecilia
Grad Student

Plant Biology

cprada@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Punyasena, Surangi W.
Associate Professor, Associate Head, Director of Graduate Studies

Plant Biology, PEEC

spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-244-8049
Lab site
Quebedeaux, Jennifer
Grad Student

Plant Biology

quebede2@illinois.edu
1500 IGB, 1206 W. Gregory, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-195
Raudabaugh, Daniel
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

raudaba2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
570-651-0312
Riley, Alex
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

abriley2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Lab Affiliation: Katy Heath
Rios Acosta, Lorena
Grad Student

Plant Biology

lrios@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Romero Valero, Ingrid
Grad Student

Plant Biology

romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
(217) 333-1186
Sargent, Malcolm
Associate Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology

malcolms@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-0287
Schuler, Mary
Affiliate; Professor

Entomology, Plant Biology, Molecular and Cellular Biology

maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Dr. Urbana, IL. 61801
MC-051
217-333-8785
Lab site
Seigler, David
Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology, PEEC

daveseig@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-7577
Lab site
Seyfried, Georgia
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

gss3@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Shearer, Carol
Professor Emerita

Plant Biology

carolshe@illinois.edu
655B Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-333-2796
Shrivastava, Stuti
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

shrvstv3@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Warnow, Tandy
Affiliate, Professor

Entomology, Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior, PEEC, Plant Biology

warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
201 N. Goodwin, Urbana
MC-258
217-300-3087
Wedow, Jessica
Grad Student

Plant Biology

wedow2@illinois.edu
147 ERML, 1201 W. Gregory Dr., Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051
Xin, Yinghui
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

xin7@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Yang, Wendy H.
Assistant Professor

Plant Biology, PEEC

yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
217-244-2614
Lab site
Yu, Li'Ang
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

liangy2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

dpz2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Zhang, Chen
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

chenz6@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Lab Affiliation: Li-Qing Chen
Zhang, Xiaodan
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

xiaodan5@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Lab Affiliation: Ray Ming
Zhu, Fan
Graduate Student

Plant Biology

fanzhu2@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall, 505 S. Goodwin Ave, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-120
Zielinski, Raymond
Professor Emeritus

Plant Biology

rez@illinois.edu
192 ERML
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana IL 61801
MC-051
217-333-6785
Lab site