Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Directory

portrait of Adaime, Marc-Elie Adaime, Marc-Elie
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
madaime2@illinois.edu
portrait of Ainsworth, Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth, Elizabeth "Lisa"
USDA ARS
Adjunct Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
lisa.ainsworth@ars.usda.gov
147 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Aubery, Rose Aubery, Rose
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
aubery2@illinois.edu
portrait of Augspurger, Carol Augspurger, Carol
Professor Emerita - Plant Biology
PEEC
carolaug@illinois.edu
155 Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Barnhart, Jennifer Barnhart, Jennifer
Office Manager
jbarnhar@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
120
portrait of Berenbaum, May Berenbaum, May
Professor & Head - Entomology
Professor - Plant Biology
Swanlund Chair
PEEC
maybe@illinois.edu
216A Morrill Hall / 318B Morrill Hall
MC-118

Lab site
portrait of Bernacchi, Carl Bernacchi, Carl J
USDA ARS
Adjunct Professor - Plant Biology
carl.bernacchi@ars.usda.gov

Lab site
portrait of Beuchat, Gabriel Beuchat, Gabriel
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
beuchat2@illinois.edu
MC-051
Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Black, Deborah Black, Deborah
Greenhouse Manager
black3@illinois.edu
1220 Plant Sci Lab
MC-634
portrait of Briskin, Donald Briskin, Donald
Professor Emeritus - Crop Sciences
Affiliate - Plant Biology
dbriskin@illinois.edu
380 NSRC
MC-637
portrait of Burroughs, Charles Burroughs, Charles
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
cburrou2@illinois.edu
MC-051
Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Cheeseman, John Cheeseman, John M.
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
j-cheese@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Chen, Li-Qing Chen, Li-Qing
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
lqchen77@illinois.edu
1201 W. Gregory Drive, Urbana, IL 61801
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Chen, Yaping Chen, Yaping
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
MC-120
Advisor: Feng Sheng Hu
portrait of Christian, Natalie Christian, Natalie
Postdoc
nsc@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Conroy, Jessica Conroy, Jessica
Assistant Professor - Geology; Plant Biology
PEEC
jconro@illinois.edu
Dept. of Geology, Natural History Building 3042
MC-102

Lab site
portrait of D'Andrea Rocha, Rafael D'Andrea Rocha, Rafael
Postdoctoral Research Associate
rdandrea@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Dalling, James Dalling, James
Professor and Head - Plant Biology
(on sabbatical leave Aug 2019-July 2020)
PEEC
dalling@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of De Becker, Elsa De Becker, Elsa
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
elsad2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of DeLucia, Evan DeLucia, Evan H.
G. William Arends Professor of Integrative Biology
Professor - Plant Biology
Director - Institute for Sustainability, Energy, and Environment
PEEC
delucia@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of DeLucia, Nicholas DeLucia, Nicholas
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
ndeluc2@illinois.edu
MC-051
Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Demler, Hannah Demler, Hannah
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
hdemler@illinois.edu
MC-051
portrait of Downie, Stephen Downie, Stephen R.
Professor - Plant Biology
Associate Director of Academic Affairs - School of Integrative Biology
PEEC
sdownie@illinois.edu
239 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Ferrer, Astrid Ferrer, Astrid
Senior Research Scientist
aferrer@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Fu, Jie Fu, Jie
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
jief3@illinois.edu
MC-051
portrait of Gabay-Laughnan, Susan Gabay-Laughnan, Susan
Senior Research Scientist
gabaylau@illinois.edu
355 Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Govindjee, Govindjee Govindjee, Govindjee
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
gov@illinois.edu
669 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Grennan, Aleel Grennan, Aleel
Senior Research Specialist
agrennan@illinois.edu
1407 IGB
MC-195
portrait of Heath, Katy Heath, Katy
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
kheath@illinois.edu
249 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Heerah, Sachin Heerah, Sachin
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
heerah2@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Hu, Feng Sheng Hu, Feng Sheng
Dean - College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Professor - Plant Biology
Ralph E. Grim Professor of Geology
PEEC
fshu@illinois.edu
2090 Lincoln Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Huber, Steven Huber, Steven Carl
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
schuber1@illinois.edu
197 ERML
MC-051
portrait of Hutchinson, Sarah Hutchinson, Sarah
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
smhutch2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of Jops, Kenny Jops, Kenny
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
kjops2@illinois.edu
Advisor: James O'Dwyer
portrait of Kannan, Kavya Kannan, Kavya
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
kkannan2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Karakehian, Jason Karakehian, Jason
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
jasonmk3@illinois.edu
portrait of Katz-Downie, Deborah Katz-Downie, Deborah
Academic Hourly Admin.
dkatzdow@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Lara, Mark Lara, Mark
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
mjlara@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Leakey, Andrew Leakey, Andrew D.B.
Professor and Acting Head - Plant Biology
University Scholar
PEEC
leakey@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
MC-195

Lab site
portrait of Lenz, Jana Lenz, Jana
Human Resource Associate
janalenz@illinois.edu
286 Morrill Hall
MC-116
portrait of Lira Viana, Jessica Lira Viana, Jessica
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
liravia2@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Long, Stephen Long, Stephen
Ikenberry Endowed University Chair of Crop Sciences and Plant Biology
PEEC
slong@illinois.edu
379 ERML/134 IGB
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Marshall-Colon, Amy Marshall-Colon, Amy
Assistant Professor - Plant Biology
amymc@illinois.edu
193 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Martin, Duncan Martin, Duncan
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
dgm3@illinois.edu
MC-051
portrait of Masters, Michael Masters, Michael
Field Research Specialist
mmasters@illinois.edu
1400 IGB
MC-195
portrait of Mayfield-Jones, Dustin Mayfield-Jones, Dustin
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
dustinm2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of McGrath, Jesse McGrath, Jesse
SoyFACE Research Coordinator
jamcgrat@illinois.edu
1402 IGB
MC-195
portrait of Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Miguel
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
zarluis2@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Miller, Andrew Miller, Andrew
Principal Mycologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Plant Biology
PEEC
amiller7@illinois.edu
2003 Robert Evers Lab
MC-652

Lab site
portrait of Ming, Ray Ming, Ray
Professor - Plant Biology
rayming@illinois.edu
148 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Molano-Flores, Brenda Molano-Flores, Brenda
Senior Plant Ecologist - Illinois Natural History Survey
Affiliate - Entomology; Plant Biology
molano1@illinois.edu
2012 Natural Resource Building
MC-652

Lab site
portrait of Montes, Christopher Montes, Christopher M
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
cmontes3@illinois.edu
MC-051

Lab site Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of O'Dwyer, James O'Dwyer, James
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
jodwyer@illinois.edu
183 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Ort, Donald Ort, Donald R
Professor - Plant Biology
d-ort@illinois.edu
1406 IGB
MC-195

Lab site
portrait of Paul, Rachel Paul, Rachel
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
paul9@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Paul, Robert Paul, Robert
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
rpaul@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Evan H. DeLucia
portrait of Pelech, Elena Pelech, Elena
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
pelech@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Prada Cordero, Cecilia Prada Cordero, Cecilia
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
cprada@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Punyasena, Surangi Punyasena, Surangi W.
Associate Professor, Associate Head, Director of Graduate Studies - Plant Biology
PEEC
spunya1@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Quebedeaux, Jennifer Quebedeaux, Jennifer
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
quebede2@illinois.edu
MC-195
Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Riley, Alex Riley, Alex
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
abriley2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Katy Heath
portrait of Rios Acosta, Lorena Rios Acosta, Lorena
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
lrios@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Romero Valero, Ingrid Romero Valero, Ingrid
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Sargent, Malcolm Sargent, Malcolm
Associate Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
malcolms@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Schore, Aiden Schore, Aiden Isaac Gittler
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
aschore2@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Schuler, Mary Schuler, Mary
Professor - Plant Biology; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology
Affiliate - Entomology
maryschu@illinois.edu
162 ERML
MC-051

Lab site
portrait of Seigler, David Seigler, David
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
PEEC
daveseig@illinois.edu
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Seyfried, Georgia Seyfried, Georgia
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
gss3@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Shearer, Carol Shearer, Carol
Professor Emerita - Plant Biology
carolshe@illinois.edu
655B Morrill Hall
MC-120
portrait of Shrivastava, Stuti Shrivastava, Stuti
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
shrvstv3@illinois.edu
MC-120
portrait of Singh, Dilkaran Singh, Dilkaran
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
dilkaran@illinois.edu
MC-051
portrait of Song, Jinjin Song, Jinjin
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
jinjins2@illinois.edu
portrait of Warnow, Tandy Warnow, Tandy
Founder Professor and Associate Head - Computer Science
Affiliate - Entomology; Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior; Plant Biology
PEEC
warnow@illinois.edu
3235 Seibel Center for Computer Sciences
MC-258
portrait of Wedow, Jessica Wedow, Jessica
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
wedow2@illinois.edu
MC-051
Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Yang, Wendy Yang, Wendy H.
Associate Professor - Plant Biology
PEEC
yangw@illinois.edu
639 Morrill Hall
MC-120

Lab site
portrait of Yu, Li'Ang Yu, Li'Ang
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
liangy2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
dpz2@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zhang, Chen Zhang, Chen
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
chenz6@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Zhang, Xiaodan Zhang, Xiaodan
Graduate Student - Plant Biology
xiaodan5@illinois.edu
MC-120
Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zielinski, Raymond Zielinski, Raymond
Professor Emeritus - Plant Biology
rez@illinois.edu