Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Students

portrait of Adaime, Marc-Elie Adaime, Marc-Elie

madaime2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Aubery, Rose Aubery, Rose

aubery2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology

portrait of Beuchat, Gabriel Beuchat, Gabriel

beuchat2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Burroughs, Charles Burroughs, Charles

cburrou2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Chen, Yaping Chen, Yaping

ychen410@illinois.edu
165 Morrill Hall
217-819-2135

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Feng Sheng Hu
portrait of De Becker, Elsa De Becker, Elsa

elsad2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of DeLucia, Nicholas DeLucia, Nicholas

ndeluc2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Demler, Hannah Demler, Hannah

hdemler@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Investigating the role of aquaporin plasma membrane intrinsic proteins in plant responses to ozone. Advisor: Lisa Ainsworth
portrait of Fu, Jie Fu, Jie

jief3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Heerah, Sachin Heerah, Sachin

heerah2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Hutchinson, Sarah Hutchinson, Sarah

smhutch2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of Jops, Kenny Jops, Kenny

kjops2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Mathematical and modelling approaches to ecological theory including community assemblage and plant competitive interactions.

Advisor: James O'Dwyer
portrait of Kannan, Kavya Kannan, Kavya

kkannan2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Karakehian, Jason Karakehian, Jason

jasonmk3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The systematics, biology and ecology of woody tissue-inhabiting, non-lichenized fungi in class Leotiomycetes (Ascomycota), with a special focus on taxa in orders Rhytismatales and Marthamycetales. These understudied fungi are ubiquitous in Northern Hemisphere temperate forests where they persist mainly as saprobes or weak parasites. Advisor: Andrew Miller
portrait of Lira Viana, Jessica Lira Viana, Jessica

liravia2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Martin, Duncan Martin, Duncan

dgm3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Interactive Effects of Drought and Ozone Stress on Crop Physiology and Biochemistry. Advisor: Lisa Ainsworth
portrait of Mayfield-Jones, Dustin Mayfield-Jones, Dustin

dustinm2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Miguel

zarluis2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Effects of soil nutrient availability on the development of Forest monodominance and subordinate species composition in Panama. Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Montes, Christopher Montes, Christopher M

cmontes3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Examining Soybean (Glycine max (L.) Merr.] and Maize (Zea mays L.) physiological responses to elevated ozone concentrations and genetically mapping ozone response

Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Paul, Rachel Paul, Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Paul, Robert Paul, Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture

Advisor: Evan H. DeLucia
portrait of Pelech, Elena Pelech, Elena

pelech@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Elucidating the complexities of maize and soybean intercropping systems to optimize productivity and resource-use efficiencies

Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Prada Cordero, Cecilia Prada Cordero, Cecilia

cprada@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Quebedeaux, Jennifer Quebedeaux, Jennifer

quebede2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Genetic Control of Carbon Metabolism and Water Use Efficiency as Targets to Improve Photosynthesis and Crop Yield

Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Riley, Alex Riley, Alex

abriley2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Katy Heath
portrait of Rios Acosta, Lorena Rios Acosta, Lorena

lrios@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Romero Valero, Ingrid Romero Valero, Ingrid

romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1186

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Schore, Aiden Schore, Aiden Isaac Gittler

aschore2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Research Description: Examining interactions between climate, disturbances, and the physical environment across the Alaskan tundra via analysis of permafrost degradation, tall shrub expansion, and biological feedback effects. Advisor: Mark Lara
portrait of Seyfried, Georgia Seyfried, Georgia

gss3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Wendy H. Yang
portrait of Shrivastava, Stuti Shrivastava, Stuti

shrvstv3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Singh, Dilkaran Singh, Dilkaran

dilkaran@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Song, Jinjin Song, Jinjin

jinjins2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology

portrait of Wedow, Jessica Wedow, Jessica

wedow2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Yu, Li'Ang Yu, Li'Ang

liangy2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Genetics and genomics of sex chromosome evolution in spinach

Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree

dpz2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zhang, Chen Zhang, Chen

chenz6@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Zhang, Xiaodan Zhang, Xiaodan

xiaodan5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming