Department of
Plant Biology

Plant Biology Students

portrait of Adaime, Marc-Elie Adaime, Marc-Elie

madaime2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Using machine learning and superresolution microscopy to investigate past ecological and evolutionary responses of conifers in angiosperm-dominated communities. Advisor: Surangi Punyasena
portrait of Aubery, Rose Aubery, Rose

aubery2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Surangi Punyasena

Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Beuchat, Gabriel Beuchat, Gabriel

beuchat2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Burroughs, Charles Burroughs, Charles

cburrou2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of De Becker, Elsa De Becker, Elsa

elsad2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of Demler, Hannah Demler, Hannah

hdemler@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Investigating the role of aquaporin plasma membrane intrinsic proteins in plant responses to ozone. Advisor: Lisa Ainsworth

Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Flores, Manuel Flores, Manuel

manuelf3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Friedmann, Caroline Friedmann, Caroline

ckfried2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Mark Lara
portrait of Fu, Jie Fu, Jie

jief3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Hutchinson, Sarah Hutchinson, Sarah

smhutch2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Stephen Long
portrait of Jops, Kenny Jops, Kenny

kjops2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Mathematical and modelling approaches to ecological theory including community assemblage and plant competitive interactions.

Advisor: James O'Dwyer
portrait of Karakehian, Jason Karakehian, Jason

jasonmk3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The systematics, biology and ecology of woody tissue-inhabiting, non-lichenized fungi in class Leotiomycetes (Ascomycota), with a special focus on taxa in orders Rhytismatales and Marthamycetales. These understudied fungi are ubiquitous in Northern Hemisphere temperate forests where they persist mainly as saprobes or weak parasites. Advisor: Andrew Miller

Advisor: Andrew Miller
portrait of Kwafo, Seldon Kwafo, Seldon

skwafo@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Justin McGrath
portrait of Lakeram, Scott Lakeram, Scott

lakeram2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Lira Viana, Jessica Lira Viana, Jessica

liravia2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Research in whether chromosome number of species might influence their growth performance and distribution in natural environments.

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Martin, Duncan Martin, Duncan

dgm3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Interactive Effects of Drought and Ozone Stress on Crop Physiology and Biochemistry. Advisor: Lisa Ainsworth

Advisor: Elizabeth "Lisa" Ainsworth
portrait of Mayfield-Jones, Dustin Mayfield-Jones, Dustin

dustinm2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Mijango Ramos, Zarluis Miguel

zarluis2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Effects of soil nutrient availability on the development of Forest monodominance and subordinate species composition in Panama. Advisor: James Dalling

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Paul, Rachel Paul, Rachel

paul9@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Paul, Robert Paul, Robert

rpaul@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Modeling terrestrial biogeochemistry of different land uses in the Midwest; quantifying ecosystem services of multi-use landscapes; resolving environmental impacts of second-generation bioenergy agriculture

Advisor: Evan H. DeLucia
portrait of Pelech, Elena Pelech, Elena

pelech@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Elucidating the complexities of maize and soybean intercropping systems to optimize productivity and resource-use efficiencies

Advisor: Carl J Bernacchi
portrait of Prada Cordero, Cecilia Prada Cordero, Cecilia

cprada@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The relationship between soil nutrient availability and the diversity, composition and distribution of tree species in montane forest in Panama, and it’s consequences for ecosystem carbon cycling.

Advisor: James Dalling
portrait of Quebedeaux, Jennifer Quebedeaux, Jennifer

quebede2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Genetic Control of Carbon Metabolism and Water Use Efficiency as Targets to Improve Photosynthesis and Crop Yield

Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Riley, Alex Riley, Alex

abriley2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Katy Heath
portrait of Rios Acosta, Lorena Rios Acosta, Lorena

lrios@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Andrew D.B. Leakey
portrait of Romero Valero, Ingrid Romero Valero, Ingrid

romerov2@illinois.edu
139 Morrill Hall
(217) 333-1186

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
The study of the pollen morphology of 100 species from Bombacoideae (Malvaceae)

Advisor: Surangi W. Punyasena
portrait of Schore, Aiden Schore, Aiden Isaac Gittler

aschore2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Research Description: Examining interactions between climate, disturbances, and the physical environment across the Alaskan tundra via analysis of permafrost degradation, tall shrub expansion, and biological feedback effects. Advisor: Mark Lara

Advisor: Mark Lara
portrait of Seyfried, Georgia Seyfried, Georgia

gss3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Assess carbon and nitrogen storage patterns in forest stands dominated by ECM- versus AM- associated trees.

Advisor: Wendy H. Yang
portrait of Shrivastava, Stuti Shrivastava, Stuti

shrvstv3@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Research in the nitrate uptake dynamics at both gene and protein level in Arabidopsis for 2 major nitrate transporters, NPF6.3 and NRT2.1.

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Singh, Dilkaran Singh, Dilkaran

dilkaran@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology
Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon

Advisor: Amy Marshall-Colon
portrait of Song, Jinjin Song, Jinjin

jinjins2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree Zerpa Catanho, Dessiree

dpz2@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming
portrait of Zhang, Chen Zhang, Chen

chenz6@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Li-Qing Chen
portrait of Zhang, Xiaodan Zhang, Xiaodan

xiaodan5@illinois.edu

Graduate Student - Plant Biology


Advisor: Ray Ming