Faculty members honored by world's largest general scientific society

Three professors in the College of LAS have been elected 2023 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are among the 502 scientists, engineers and innovators recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements by the world’s largest general scientific society. 

The new fellows are evolution, ecology and behavior professor Rebecca Fuller, chemistry professor Christy Landes, and communication professor Marshall Scott Poole.

Fuller’s research explores the evolution of fishes to understand how natural and sexual selection vary over time and space, how genetics drive variation within populations, how visual dynamics influence behavior and selection, and how natural selection and genomic rearrangements contribute to speciation. She is an affiliate of the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology at Illinois, and she is the recipient of multiple awards for her research, teaching and mentoring. The AAAS selected her “for distinguished contributions to the field of evolutionary biology, particularly for understanding the behavioral, sensory and genetic basis of mate-choice-driven processes of speciation.”